1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

USB connection on Vista

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NewDroidUser, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. NewDroidUser

    NewDroidUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    5
    0
    25
    Anyone else having problems "mounting" USB to Vista? I can do it on my old XP desktop but not my newer Vista laptop. Any recommendations?
     

    Advertisement

  2. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Works fine on my Vista machine. What problem are you having?
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    1. I got one - after the device has installed all the drivers, reboot.
    2. Leave it disconnected.
    3. Boot into Vista and reboot again
    4. Leave it disconnected
    5. login
    6. connect

    See if that helps.
     
  4. NewDroidUser

    NewDroidUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    5
    0
    25
    When I click "mount", the laptop find a removable disk drive (F), but them asks me to insert a removable disk into drive(F).

    Like I said, I tried this on an older PC running XP and it had no problem recoginizing the Droid.
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Did yo do as above? Sometimes it tkaes Vista a couple of tries to figure out the drivers exist so it can see a sinple, mounted SDHC....
     
  6. NewDroidUser

    NewDroidUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    5
    0
    25
    Thanks for the response...I've had the Droid for a couple of days and have tried rebooting both the phone & laptop after loading the drivers...any other ideas?
     
  7. Trel

    Trel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    252
    10
    38
    You did mount it from the phone, right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...