1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support usb datacable

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rastaman-FB, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    usb cable died.
    wtf cable just died over night. im sure its the cable as it will still charge via the charger but nothing happens at all when i plug in the usb.

    i heard they were badly built but that takes the micky just a tad
     

    Advertisement

  2. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009

    Jan 14, 2009
    547
    6
    61
    Have you tried another USB cable ?

    On the G1 you dont have to use the stock cable. Not sure about your phone.
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    its a usb supermini on the samsung rather than 4pin mini. the cable is very flimsy and wont even charge by usb but will change by charger (which uses same socket)
     
  4. ressu

    ressu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009

    Sep 16, 2009
    63
    1
    16
    Finland
    The cable is a standard MicroUSB cable and should be available in most computer stores
     
  5. jfallesen

    jfallesen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    Sep 10, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    The standard USB cable that comes with the phone works fine for charging. Whenever I connect the phone to a PC, the phone starts charging (provided that the PC is on, obviously).
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    nah it wasnt able to be detected by the pc at all. it was dead, i got one from ebay
     
  7. z0mbi3

    z0mbi3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    105
    0
    35
    Sorry to thread bump but does that cable you replaced it with work ok for firmware updating? If so you got a link to where you got it? A couple that I've tried won't flash.
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no actually it was crap, i got my blackberry datacable for my 9700 and that works a charm
     

Share This Page

Loading...