1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support USB debugging automatically comes on (mac and win users)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by henryronny, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. henryronny

    henryronny Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    33
    5
    36
    hi so every time i plug the htc one into the macbook usb debugging comes on by default. its a simple tap on the notification to turn it off, but is there a way to turn it off?

    I've tried the developers options menu then turn off usb debugging, but this doesn't make a difference, and also tried turning off the developers options completely with the slider at the top of the menu, but this also doesn't help

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Do you have Android.com - Android File Transfer installed on your Mac?

    Which revision of OS X are you running?

    My bet is that the phone has sensed data lines connected, could not find an MTP interface (as provided by Android File Transfer) and then ran home to momma with a usb debugging setup.

    MTP - mass transport protocol - a Windows protocol that you requires that add-on for a Mac.

    Due to later OS X updates, AFT now doesn't see every Android on every Mac, but it's your best bet.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  3. Samcanadian

    Samcanadian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013

    Apr 23, 2013
    63
    67
    33
    Male
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I get this with my Dell laptop too, and can't seem to get the HTC Sync desktop tool to see any of the information I have on my phone, regardless of what I do. Is this somehow related?
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If my guess stated above is correct, yes.

    Let's look at this way - with Jellybean and no sd card, gone are the days of a selection for charge only or usb mass storage mode.

    That basically leaves only the default media sync/transfer mode when the data lines go hot.

    When the software doesn
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    BTW - AirDroid is free and secure on your home network.

    If you don't mind wifi, or need a workaround right away, it's a great solution and easy to use.
     
    marctronixx and toad6386 like this.
  6. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #255
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    Once again, Early to the rescue.. :congrats: I've been using WiFi File Explorer Pro (FAOTD) for quick up/downloads (1 or two files) and suffered because I couldn't efficiently upload my audio books, so I had to use USB to upload them to my 3VO. Airdroid seems loads faster than even USB, and MUCH better than Wifi Pro. Thanks loads! :D
     
    EarlyMon and marctronixx like this.
  7. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    I have noticed this as well but I assumed it's because I have the Android toolchain installed on my machine since I dabble on occasion writing little apps.

    If I kill debugging on the phone it drops into file transfer mode on it's own.
    I do have to do this every time I plug it in and I figured that was a new feature geared towards developers. :D
     
  8. henryronny

    henryronny Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    33
    5
    36
    Hi EarlyMon

    Thanks for the advice, yes I do have AFT on the Mac, and I've used it for a few years with my GS2

    The Mac is OS X 10.8.2.

    If I uninstall AFT, will it be problem solved?
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Just to make sure I'm clear - AFT is working with your SGS2 but not your One?

    If that's the case, you're in the group where, for unknown reasons, that rev of OS X, AFT and your Android don't get along.

    I've seen that more and more without an easy solution because Google isn't updating AFT or because Apple updated OS X.

    I really hate to send you for a paid solution, but you might want to look into this - http://www.sync-mac.com/android-sync.html

    I haven't used that, so see if they have a demo or something you can try if you're interested.


    BTW - have you installed HTC Sync Manager, and it so, is it working?
     
  10. emf1138

    emf1138 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012

    Sep 8, 2012
    70
    35
    43
    Los Angeles
    Is there a way to NOT have Sync Manager pop up every time I plug in my phone to my Mac? Don't see any settings or prefs. to this effect.
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,992
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I've merged your question into this topic as it appears related. Hopefully the answer lies in previous posts; failing that I'm sure you'll get advice.
     
    emf1138, marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The only way that I know how to suppress that requires root.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  13. henryronny

    henryronny Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    33
    5
    36

    Hi again
    AFT is working for both phones (although the usb port on my gs2 is haggard and doesn't always play nice)

    Sync manager pops up in a window every time I plug the One in, but I haven't set it up/installed it
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...