1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

USB Problems??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rob989_69, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    My phone has been working fine, up till last night. All of a sudden when I plug it into USB I get an error that there was a device malfunction. In dev man there's a Microsoft WPD FileSystem Volume that windows says cannot start properly, and a unknown device under USB.

    I've system restored, I've power drained, I've tried on 3 pc's. Same thing. All pc's are running windows 7 64 bit.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. digger44

    digger44 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I had a problem where (all of a sudden) the PC just would not see the Captivate... no reaction at all when you plugged in the cable! I un-installed / re-installed the drivers... uninstalled Kies (don't waste your time with this app)... changed the USB drivers... nothing. I even restored my PC to when I know it was working... still nothing. After all of this, it dawned on me (OK... I'm an idiot) to re-start the Captivate (turn it off, then turn it on). Guess what... So, just in case you haven't done this...
     
  3. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    Thanks for the reply, yeah, it's been rebooted a number of times since this started.
     
  4. djsmvp

    djsmvp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    36
    2
    16
    Im having USB problems as well with Windows 7 32bit. It either wont react, device malfunction, or connect if im lucky. Usually reinstalling the drivers have helped but its usually short lived.
     
  5. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    Yeah, I've reinstalled drivers every which way. I'm convinced it's the phone or the cable because it happens on 3 different computers, two of which have never been connected before.

    I recently setup Clockworks ROM backup and I'm wondering if that had something to do with it.
     
  6. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    Anyone else have any clues? I'm really stuck here, I Can't get my pc to see it therefor can't even reflash to stock??
     
  7. acp

    acp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    996
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    996
    71
    78
    I can't get my Win7 64bit to see the phone, at all....I plug it in, it says usb connected on the phone, but I never see anything on my computer.
     
  8. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    Pull down your notification bar and click USB then Mount. Also need to be in Mass Storage mode.
     
    acp likes this.
  9. acp

    acp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    996
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    996
    71
    78
    lol oops
     
  10. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    No problems.
    Pretty much given up on my issue. Gonna try at work tomorrow. If that's no good ill take it to the art store.
     

Share This Page

Loading...