• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

USB Sync ALL outlook (or any CRM) data to Android

dheymann

Aug 10, 2011
I am posting this for people like me who wish to sync Outlook contacts, appointments, tasks, and memos with Android and don't want to use the cloud. If you are not interested in paying $49 for software, stop reading because I am going to recommend CompanionLinkand it costs $49.

First the situation: I graduated from PalmPilot to handspring to Treo to Blackberry and finally to Android (photon 4g). I was used to syncing with USB so I amassed 8,000 appts, 2500 contacts, 300 tasks, and 8 memoes. Some of my information is very confidential so I do not want it in the cloud. I need all of my appointments as I frequently need to determine how often I worked with someone and when, etc.

With a lot of help from these forums, I found a spreadsheet (SyncDroid.net) purporting to list all 42 software solutions for syncing outlook with Android. There were only about 4 that would sync via usb and include tasks and memoes. money was no object for me, just results. I determined that there was no "perfect" solution but that Companionlink appeared to be the most likely candidate.

The software will sync over a dozen different databases from Outlook to other CRMs like goldmine and it will sync to Android, IOS, BB, and many others. Companionlink has developed its own device software called DejaOffice which has Deja contacts, tasks, appts, expense, memoes, etc. They developed their own so they could give it away free (and it is free, you only pay for the PC based sync software companionlink).

Full disclosure: I have no vested interest in Companionlink (and had never heard of them two weeks ago) but i am a fanboy (ignoring their weaknesses and praising their strengths). Nonetheless for me they are the perfect solution.