1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support USB sync/disk mount not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by saturnine, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. saturnine

    saturnine Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Andalusia
    When I connect my Evo to my PC, I get no option asking if I want to mount the SD card as a disk drive. I get no notification at all that my phone is plugged into a PC. Do I need to install HTC Sync before I can do this? The manual does not mention it if so. I have tried changing the default setting from "Charge Only" to "disk drive" but no change. The "Ask Me" option is also enabled. Any thoughts?

    I am 3 days new to the Evo, so thank you for any assistance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Try the cable and phone on a different computer, then try a different cable. Basically rule out that it is the cable and pc and or that port
     
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Installing htc sync can't hurt. You may be having a driver issue
     
  4. saturnine

    saturnine Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Andalusia
    Works fine on another PC, so something to do w/Vista I suppose. I have not installed HTC sync yet, nor did I need it to work correctly on the other PC.

    Thank you to those who responded.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    or an issue with a usb port on that unit. good luck figuring it out! sorry I can't help more but at least we have narrowed it down to that pc
     
  6. saturnine

    saturnine Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Andalusia
    Of course, on the PC that it is working, anytime I transfer a large number of files, it locks up my entire PC.

    So I installed HTC Sync to see if that would help me. The phone can't find HTC sync on the PC...
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    do you have an additional cable to try?
     
  8. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    You may want to try another usb device on that computer, it may be that the port on the PC is not working.
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    he has tried the phone and cable on two computers...it doesn't work at all on one and half works on the other... I am still not convinced the port on the first computer is good. I suggested he check that in the first response ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...