1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root usb tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thIsgUy20, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    do anybody know of a app where you can do usb tether to ubuntu cause using wifi tether app is good but it use my battery and when i plug it up it make the phone hot. so is there some kinda app where you can do usb tether. i believe the stock one dont work until u pay unless im wrong.
    btw im using ubuntu 12.10 if that matters
     

    Advertisement

  2. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    I did it on a sense ROM...when you hook it up use the tether option where it asks you what you want the USB to do...then hit Windows...and that's it. (I was on Ubuntu 11.04)
     
  3. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    it askes that on ubuntu or on the phone? and im running midnight jb idk if that changes anything
     
  4. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Not sure about midnight JB edition. Like I said, I did it with sense.


    I would suggest asking ubuntuforums.org maybe...but that's what I did was with sense.
     
  5. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    oh okay thanks anyways
     
  6. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    There's a version of ClockworkMod Tether for Linux. Have you tried that? It works pretty well for me on Windows.

    ramjet73
     
  7. Teh_Kitteh

    Teh_Kitteh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    63
    12
    18
    MidnightJB seems to have usb tethering too, but I haven't tested it. Just try hooking it up.

    The setting is there.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    I'll try hooking it up and clockwork mod tether I did run across that once but didn't pay attention to it. Guess imma take a u-turn and check it out
     
  9. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    PDANet also supports usb tether for Linux, Windows and Mac
     
  10. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    Imma try pdanet. Cause the USB tether that come on the phone you can't use that unless you have paid virgin mobile and clockwork mod tether for some reason say isn't compatible wit our device on play store
     
  11. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I haven't used PDAnet since my HTC TouchPro days, but I noticed that they recently purchased FoxFi and have integrated that into PDAnet+. It's $10 (with current promotional pricing versus the normal $15) as opposed to $5 for ClockworkMod Tether, but if you want the integration of USB and wireless tether in one app it might be worth a try. Prior versions of FoxFi only supported bluetooth and not WiFi on the Evo 3D/V and I don't think that's changed in PDAnet+. It's blocked in the Play Store for Sprint phones and may be for VM users as well, but it's downloadable from the PdaNet+ website, and the free version in the Play Store is only a trial anyway and drops connections after a limited amount of usage.

    BTW, Clockworkmod Tether supports Linux, Windows and Mac as well. I've been very happy with the combination of CWM Tether for USB connections and WiFi Tether for wireless connections, but if those don't work for you PDAnet is definitely worth a try.

    ramjet73
     
  12. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    That's Sprint/VM blocking it, just as they do PDAnet+ and FoxFi. If you look at the description of CWM Tether in the Play Store you will find a link at the end of the first paragraph to get the .apk directly from the website. The drivers for Linux, Windows and Mac are also available in that Play Store description.

    ramjet73
     
  13. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    I think imma try clockwork tether I don't really wanna go buy a app just to USB tether
     
  14. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Just so you know, CWM tether will limit your daily usage to 20MB per day after the 14 day trial if you don't pay $5 for the premium version, but it doesn't stop working until you reach that daily limit.

    ramjet73
     
  15. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    how do you run .exe files on ubuntu? im trying to use clockwork thing and i downloaded the htc drivers but whenever i click it it go to archive manager for some reason
     
  16. Teh_Kitteh

    Teh_Kitteh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    63
    12
    18
    Not true, I just tried both the built in mobile hotspot and the usb tether. It worked, and I don't pay virgin extra for it.

    Here is the usb tether in action:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    You don't need those drivers for Linux, just the ones linked in the description on the Play Store.

    ramjet73
     
  18. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    well when i turn on usb tether it says it connected on ubuntu but when i try and use internet it doesnt work
     
  19. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Use those options at your own risk because here's the official Virgin Mobile policy in their current Terms and Conditions:

    If you are using the built-in software that type of usage is much easier for VM to track.

    ramjet73
     
  20. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    ok so ive downloaded the linux drivers for that clockworkmod tether and i i went into terminal and now its telling me to please compile the node.js package included before running tether. i have no idea how to do that im pretty knew to ubuntu so where do i go know
     
  21. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I can't really help you with that but I'm sure prinny or one of the other ubuntu gurus will jump in. ;)

    ramjet73
     
  22. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    alrighty i hope one of you can help me out cause now im taking a different approach i saw a guide on how to install clockworkmod tether but now im on another problem smh im fina give up. it gotta be something easier than this
     
  23. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    It's really easy on Windows.

    I thought you linux guys liked to tinker. ;)

    ramjet73
     
  24. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    "Linux Guru."

    I'm a nutcase, get it right ;)

    Do me a favor.

    It shows as connected on Ubuntu?

    post me the output of

    Code (Text):
    1. sudo ifconfig
     
  25. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    you mean doing the stock usb tether and then put it
    sudo ifconfig
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...