1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips USB Tethering with EB13

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PhonerSapien, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. PhonerSapien

    PhonerSapien Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    68
    2
    16
    I know a lot of people had problems with getting the USB tethering to work in 2.1, and it appeared to manifest itself in different ways. For me, I didn't get any errors per se, but the devices would not fully recognize each other. I just tried it with Froyo, and it seems to work perfectly and instantly. So I would suggest that if anyone had similar problems getting the USB tethering to work under 2,1, they should try it with EB13.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BrianFX

    BrianFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    101
    8
    56
    When you refer to USB tethering, do you mean via 3rd party apps (PDAnet, Android Wired Tether, etc) or with the phone's built-in tethering? If the latter, I thought Sprint disabled that if you're not paying extra for tethering.
     
  3. PhonerSapien

    PhonerSapien Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    68
    2
    16
    I guess the phrase I used is pretty ambiguous. What I meant was the ability to connect the phone to a Windows 7 PC using the stock USB cable and see the folder structure/files on the phone from the PC so files can be tranfered to and from the phone. A lot of people couldn't get that to work with 2.1, and, for me, 2.2 seems to have fixed whatever problem I had.
     
  4. BrianFX

    BrianFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    101
    8
    56
    Ah ok thanks. Yes anytime I tried USB to a Win7 PC, it would never work, no matter what drivers I installed. Luckily I still run XP on my home PCs, but good know I'm cleared to upgrade (forced to thanks to Battlefield 3 requiring it).
     

Share This Page

Loading...