1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Use droid x in Argentina on vacation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by matthewclaxton, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. matthewclaxton

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have a droid x and I would like to know if it can be unlocked to use in Argentina while I am down there this Christmas? When I asked at the Verizon office they looked at me and said no just buy one there which was less than helpful, also less than helpful was the on line rep who told me for around $65+ I could use it at $4.99 per min !!! any ideas?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    No!! This phone is CDMA and Argentina has GSM. You will be able to use it with WIFI and maybe use Skype.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  3. swagner53

    swagner53 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    291
    62
    53
    Argentina abandoned CDMA for GSM a few years ago. This means only Verizon World Phones would work. The DroidX is not one of these. Also, international use of phones on US contracts is usually very expensive. Your best bet would be to get a prepaid when you get there.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  4. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    That's why I have my BB Bold unlock =) so when I travel outside the US as soon as I get any where I just buy a prepay SIM card and forget about paying VZ the expensive fees.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  5. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Are you seriously upset that you can't use your non global phone globally?
     
  6. matthewclaxton

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Yes it cost enough that it ought to do something usefull !!
     
  7. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    Theses days people gets upset for being upset :D

    I do tech support and boy, you should hear the comments.
     
  8. matthewclaxton

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Did you get the BB bold unlocked? or is that something that has to be done later? Thanks
     
  9. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    Yeah, you need to get the BB unlocked before you leave the US.

    Do You have a BB bold? or BB World?
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    You can't unlock a CDMA only phone to work on a GSM network. and as the the comment on how much it cost, Verizon offered phones that gost just as much if not CHEAPER that do can be used globally. If that was a requirement for you then maybe you should have done a little more research before you purchased the phone.
     
  11. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    :D give him a break!! Not every one knows everything... =)

    I doubt the VZ rates are cheaper than getting a prepay service at any other country.
     
  12. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    For sure! Verizons global roaming rates are pretty ridiculous.
     
  13. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    504
    59
    78
    That's why I always keep a global phone handy :D
     
  14. HalfFrozen

    HalfFrozen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    638
    48
    68
    AZ
    ....

    ....

    Joking right?
     
  15. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    1,635
    1,032
    323
    Male
    Film/TV Attorney
    Whistler BC and Los Angeles
  16. GSBJackson

    GSBJackson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    13
    5
    16
    VZW will unlock global GSM capable phones to use other SIM cards if you've been a customer for more than a couple of months. Highly recommend using a SIM card preloaded for that country. Also try Mobal | International SIM Cards if traveling to multiple countries.
     
  17. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    i'm pretty sure that isnt true. why would they provide you with a device that circumvents paying for a service they provide? that would be like saying verizon will loan you a netbook that you can put an AT&T sim card in and use their network.
    verizon will loan you a global capable phone that can be used internationally, but they have a vodafone sim.
     
  18. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    no kidding. it actually sounds like the verizon rep gave him good advice.
     
  19. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    You cannot use your CDMA phone on a GSM network, just as everyone else stated.

    However, Verizon will give loaner global phones for the duration of your travel. I did it before when traveling to a non-CDMA area. They did that at no charge.

    Have to watch though, international roaming was outrageously expensive. The Verizon rep probably gave you the best advice, get a prepaid phone down there.
     
  20. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    and again if wifi is available you can use sipdroid to get voip service.
     

Share This Page

Loading...