1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Use only 2g network kills phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by landovr, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    So I set my wifes phone to use only 2g network and it basically killed the phone. Phone had no signal, not able to make calls or send text messages or anything. Under mobile network options there is an option to use only 2g network (saves battery). When I select this the phone loses all connection so it is absolutely useless, all it will do is make emergency calls. This seems screwed up to me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nordo

    Nordo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    The same thing happens to me when I use that setting, and if I'm not mistaken, I believe it is because Telus dropped most the old 2G/GSM frequency range so it is no longer on their network.

    So if you're with telus, the phone has no 2G network to use. It's a shame because I understand that you can save a lot of battery time by using 2G only.

    When I plop in an active Rogers sim, I can use the 2G networks just fine, so I don't believe it's the phone.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    Yes I am with TELUS also.
     
  4. 350Rocket

    350Rocket Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    176
    5
    36
    College for Civil Engineering
    Belleville, Ontario, Canada
    I found the same thing back when i first got the phone, there is no Telus 2g network anymore AFAIK. The phone worked perfect roaming on 2g only in Cuba last month for me.
     
  5. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    I talked to telus today and they said not to check the 2g box because they don't support that technology anymore.
     

Share This Page

Loading...