1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using a different serial number to download firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daznsaz, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. daznsaz

    daznsaz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Hi

    I have 2 Hero's, one factory unlocked which runs the HTC firmware and a locked Orange Hero that runs the Orange firmware.
    If i entered the serial number of the factory unlocked phone and downloaded the HTC firmware could i then install that on the Orange handset??
     

    Advertisement

  2. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    You could probably download the firmware from HTC but the installer will then refuse to install it on the Orange device as it will read the serial number and tell you the update is for a different handset.
     
  3. daznsaz

    daznsaz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Is there anyway to De-Brand the Hero, have done that on my Nokia E71 before??
     
  4. mez

    mez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009

    Sep 16, 2009
    207
    19
    38
    UK
    Yes there is. Have a search through there are a few people tho have posted ways to do it. it involves rooting I will probably do the same to mine but im waiting to see if 2.1 sorts oit any problems first tho.

    Lots of people have posted that if you root and stick on a custom Rom you might stick with that as its so much faster and works really well
     
  5. daznsaz

    daznsaz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Didn't really want to go down the rooting way.
     
  6. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    213
    0
    35
    UK
    Rooting is the only way to get around your problem. It's pretty easy to do as long as you're well read first. If I can do it, trust me, you'll be fine. Plus custom ROMs are indeed faster, my Hero runs much better now.
     
  7. hmadsen

    hmadsen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    38
    1
    16
    Are there any rooted images out there that comes with some sort of selector program for the default apps ? (Load rom into program, select what apps you want default, save rom, flash rom).

    Asking because i really wanted to get rid of some of the programs i never use so they dont clog up my list but i dont want to install a rooted image just to find that they removed some of the unwanted apps and replaced them with other unwanted apps.

    Alternatively, are there any custom roms out there that will let me delete any program (Or atleast the icon from the menu) and not just the ones i have installed myself.

    Hmadsen
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Some ROMs do have 'kitchens', where you can pick and choose components of the ROM e.g. Modaco. Often they are for donators only however.

    It is possible to remove things from the ROM via ADB and using command prompt on your PC. I removed HTC Mail and Footprints from mine for instance.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...