1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using a microSDHC card in phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MJ46, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16
    I have a microSDHC card (32gb), and I wish to use it in my phone. There is currently content on it.

    Will I have to format it in Windows first, if so what format? Or will I get the option to do that from the phone?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,228
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,228
    1,633
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    What content is on it already?
     
  3. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16

    I've recently had to use it to update a satnav device, although I won't need it again for that.
     
  4. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,228
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,228
    1,633
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Format as FAT32 in the PC
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  5. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16
    Thanks. I'll let you know how I get on.
     
  6. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16
    Windows formatted the card, and success !

    The only other problem I have is getting it to stay in without it popping out.........
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  7. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,228
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,228
    1,633
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    You need to push it in until it clicks.
    You may need to use your fingernail or a pin
     
  8. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16
    Yes, it's gone in and stayed in this time. Works perfectly.

    It asks me if I want to set it as internal storage. Presumably yes?
     
  9. psionandy

    psionandy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,102
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,102
    7,255
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    Sure... you can do that.. it will let your phone use it to save apps on..

    the downside is that if you do, it won't be readable on your pc.
     
    Jfalls63 and KBU2 like this.
  10. MJ46

    MJ46 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #841
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018

    Aug 3, 2018
    13
    2
    16
    That's OK, I need it for the phone anyway.
     
    psionandy likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...