1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Using Evo in Tokyo...pls help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rjjr2531, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    271
    45
    43
    dallas,tx
    Hello... I'm leaving for Tokyo tomorrow and ill be there for 2 weeks. My question is, how can I use my wifi, internet, camera etc... without using my phone signal? Basically I don't want to accidentally make or recieve a call or text, BUT be able to use everything else... I wonder if fring will work... THANKS!
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,113
    3,784
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    hmm turn off the phones radio.... OR remove your phone from your sprint account and put a dummy phone on the line. you dont need to have the phone on your account if you plan to only use wifi....
     
  3. Premonition

    Premonition Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    102
    2
    36
    Well the only way you can use your wifi is if the place your going to in japan has it, example hotel, places to eat etc. turn off all your radios and only use the wifi portion when needed.
     
  4. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    271
    45
    43
    dallas,tx
    I want to use every feature of the phone other than receiving and sending calls and texts. I'm simply trying to avoid charges while I'm they're... its airplane mode the solution? I'm not sure...
     
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,113
    3,784
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    no, airplane mode turns off all radios, including wifi.

    turn off the phones voice radio. if you want to be overly sure then take the phone off your account until you return.
     
  6. jsward12

    jsward12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    303
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Massachusetts
    Check Sprint's website under the International Traveling Section to see if your phone will work in Japan. Basically, if Japan has CDMA networks it will work but beware of the intl roaming charges!!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Just take a notebook and a digicam lol, leave cell phone at home.
     
  8. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    I am almost positive that Japan's voice and data are both incompatible with any US standard, so WiFi will be the only thing that will work.
     
  9. SB22

    SB22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    61
    11
    18
    Airplane mode does turn off all radios, but with the EVO, you can just turn WiFi back on and it will work while the rest of the phone remains in "Airplane mode."
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. svtisland

    svtisland Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I went to japan in june with my evo for business trip. I tried to use the cell service there but some error messages keep popping up preventing the connection. I ended up buying a phone card to make calls. Also only very few places have wifi service, not even major hotel in Tokyo, there is always a lan cable in the room. I basically used my feature packed evo as a mp3 player. I suspect the Evo is not compatible for international roaming yet cause i used my palm with no problem about 6 months ago.
    So most likely you don't have to worry about the super expensive roaming fees.
     
  11. rfss

    rfss Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    47
    15
    18
    This. I just tried it. It works.
     
  12. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    Evo is not a world phone and has no GSM chip, so your international roaming is very limited to begin with.

    And what svtisland said confirms that you can't use the Evo in Japan anyway, so don't worry about the roaming charges.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  13. svtisland

    svtisland Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    To set the record straight, Korea and Japan has CDMA carriers and i think CDMA is more dominant inthose two countries. Also as i said Palm Pre worked fine in Japan. Check sprint web site they have all devices and countries that can do international roaming but Evo is not listed as a international roaming phone yet.
     
  14. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    Sorry, missed the part about the Pre.
     
  15. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    302
    81
    73
    I'd like to be able to use my EVO in Japan. I'm going there next month for 2 weeks. Roaming charges be damned, that's what expense accounts are for :)
     
  16. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    271
    45
    43
    dallas,tx
    thanks guys...looks like i will have an over powered mp3 player...how the heck can japan not have more wifi??!! sucks...i wonder if the starbucks' there have free wifi now like in the states??? they a=started this july 1 just fyi

    THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE
    SAYANORA! (damn i messed that up!)
     
  17. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    302
    81
    73
    Get WarDrive to help you find all the open wifi hot spots. Be sure to upload your map so it's available for my trip in 3 weeks :D
     
  18. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    302
    81
    73
    GSM is not deployed in Japan.
     
  19. ayman86

    ayman86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    93
    11
    18
    when i went to spain/italy, i called up sprint to disable my data and phone services. when i came back, i called them back to reinstate it. no problems :)
     
  20. ramonini

    ramonini Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    205
    56
    53
    Miami FL
    Man i envy you guys ... I really want to go to japan .. Hopefully some day I will..
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Last time I was in Korea, I don't recall my phone working there at all.

    First thing I do whenever I hit Japan is to rent a cellphone in the airport - then you know you'll be OK - and at least save a bit.

    As I recall, my Sprint CMDA phone worked in some places there, not others.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...