1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using GPS without Data Connection on Android

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Toto 006, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Toto 006

    Toto 006 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I live in Tijuana. My father sent me a Droid X from Motorola (from Verizon, deactivated). So he sent me a cell phone without a plan/carrier. The WiFi worked, so I am still able to use it for many things. Here is what I can do: I can be out & about in the city without WiFi, open Google Maps, with street names and everything showing, and have my location pin-pointed. I do require WiFi to get DIRECTIONS but directions are not needed when you know where you are and you know where on the map you are going. If I get the directions while in WiFi, I can keep the directions too, I just can't hit back while the app is open (I can hit home and then return to the app and the directions will be there).

    There is my experience. My question: What allows me to use the GPS and Google Maps outside of WiFi? Is it stand alone GPS?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    Yes, almost all modern smart phones's GPS can operate in stand alone mode.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  3. Toto 006

    Toto 006 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Do you know if the Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0 has this feature? (Thanks)
     
  4. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    Yes it does. It will function in stand alone mode. If you have an offline navigation app, you can use it for gps navigation without connecting to wifi.
     
    johnlgalt and Toto 006 like this.
  5. Toto 006

    Toto 006 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I'm in TJ and it was working on and off over here. (The GPS on the Samsung would not work even in areas where my Droid X would.) Perhaps it was a device issue? I like the Galaxy, but returned it because the GPS was not working properly offline. It sometimes gave me my location and sometimes not.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    Because its offline. The GPS antenna on ANY cellphone will work erratically without AGPS data because the GPS chip they use is a bit weaker than what dedicated devices use, and uses less power too.
     
  7. Toto 006

    Toto 006 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    But the Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0 is not a cell phone.. it's just an mp3...
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Some of the Galaxy phones had a GPS issue. Some of those could be fixed by software, some could not.

    Some seem to do better than others without a data connection. Maintaining a clear sky view is key to that as well as accuracy.

    You can't use Google Maps without a data connection but you can search the Market for other map apps. Some allow you to download a map to your phone, then you can go out and about without being online, still getting many of the same benefits.
     
  9. SoundFX

    SoundFX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    12
    7
    16
    ahhh but you CAN use google maps without data!

    go into the map settings and find google labs. turn on the "pre-cache" data feature. this will let you save a 10x10 mile square of the map on your device so you can see it when you are without data connections. you can save up to 10 of these. if your have a gps built in it will even show you where you are. no searching or directions of course...
     
    chrstdvd, johnlgalt and EarlyMon like this.
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    All the same. Its just a phone with the antennae taken off. Same weaker GPS chips.
     
  11. HowDoiUseAndro

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    I had the same problem with my DroidX (verizon) when I was in Puerto Rico. GPS would not work there :(
     
  12. droid9980

    droid9980 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    2
    0
    25
    I'm from malaysia. So what would be the best gps app which doesn't require data?
     
  13. UssjTrunks

    UssjTrunks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    364
    55
    53
    There are several, but they all cost a fortune. You're better off investing in a standalone GPS.
     
  14. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    435
    60
    53
    Retired
    Virginia
    I just made sure this feature is on my Droid Charge and am now charging my old D2 to see if it too has this in maps. I thought I had tried using it as a navigation tool and the results were negative. I am gona see if I can make it work now. Too cool if it does.
     
  15. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    It doesn't do navigation. It only caches the map so you can open it and see where you are. You also can't search for destinations. The best thing to do is to search and star your destinations before you leave.
     
  16. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    435
    60
    53
    Retired
    Virginia
    Yep the D2 finally changed and I turned gps stand alone on. Nothing happened and maps did not map my position. So I went to Market and downloaded Gps status to the D2. I opened it and boom! I was connected to 9 satellites. I went to maps and the blue arrow was hovering over my house. I am so pleased to have a back up.

    I know it does not navigate, but it shows where I am. I will figure out how to get where I want to go based on that.
     
  17. Toto 006

    Toto 006 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    what is gps status????/
     
  18. funpig

    funpig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    641
    76
    78
    "GPS Status" is a free app (do as search on the Market). It allows you to download the AGPS info when you have wifi and it seems to help your phone get a GPS lock faster. I use it all the time (I do not have a data plan). At the very least you can see the satellites pop up on the status screen and see the strength bar of each satellite.
     

Share This Page

Loading...