1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using Handcent with the messenger center?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ruben, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. Ruben

    Ruben Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1,152
    349
    163
    How do I make it so that handcent is the default sms app for the messenger center?
     

    Advertisement

  2. freethinker

    freethinker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    providence
    Hello...to my knowledge..in the message center...you can't..i also use this and i tried but it just brings me to the cliq/text message client. Just drag the handcent to your screens and go from there.
     
  3. p3ezi(moto)

    p3ezi(moto) Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    1
    6
    hey i registered for this site just to answer this question. you have to go into menu/settings when you open messaging and then unclick display notifications. and handcent will just pop up instead of that other pop up. that is how i did mine...
     
  4. freethinker

    freethinker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    providence
    Well if i'm reading his post correctly he wants it changed for his "message center" to show handcent instead of the default, which you can't do. Disabling the pop up for the default is the question you answered.

    take care
     
  5. p3ezi(moto)

    p3ezi(moto) Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    1
    6
    well I have the capabilities to delete the regular messager...and my handcent is my default...messenger
     
  6. Ruben

    Ruben Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1,152
    349
    163
    So it works together?
     
  7. p3ezi(moto)

    p3ezi(moto) Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    1
    6
    hey and there is a way to set it...like for instance...my buddy sent me a youtube link...when I clicked on it...it asked what do i want the default program to be and I clicked always do this option and hey it's set as default
     
  8. Ruben

    Ruben Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1,152
    349
    163
    Messenger center
     
  9. IINaDII

    IINaDII Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    yes they work together.

    turn your text notifications off and your handcent will act as a default text client.
     
  10. Ruben

    Ruben Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1,152
    349
    163
    All of you listen to him/her! He/She has read it correctly.
     
  11. IINaDII

    IINaDII Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    i understood, i just thought you were asking if they work together.
     
  12. choppy

    choppy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    20
    0
    15
    Maryland
    Whenever I receive a text message, it announces who the text is from. How to I turn off the voice on the Handcent SMS?:(
     
  13. freethinker

    freethinker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    providence
    I wasn't even aware that you could do that, how did you enable it in the first place?

    Just go into settings when you have handcent pulled up and try going through each path, your bound to find something. I just did a quick search on my phone and unfortunately didn't see anything. Ill look again later though.

    BTW.... handcent can be set as your default message app, but cannot replace the cliq's default in the message center, as far as I know, and I've tried..feel free to prove me wrong.:D

    take care:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...