1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using HTC Desire abroad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carlos fandango, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. carlos fandango

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I'm travelling abroad in a couple of weeks and will be taking my HTC Desire with me. Now I'm aware of the huge bills that can be run up if you dont switch off mobile network.
    Q1....Are there any other settings which should be switched off so that I'm not going to find a huge bill when I arrive back home.
    Q2....Also...am I correct in thinking that if I'm in a Wi-fi hotspot I could switch on the phones wi-fi setting only and use the internet that way and it would be totally free and not affect my mobile phone bill.

    Thanks in advance for any help

    Carlos......
     

    Advertisement

  2. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    Depending on your carrier, you also might get charged for sending and receiving phone calls and texts. If the phone is not vital to you - in other words, you just need it for local communication (ie if you have friends in the city and want to be able to call in case you get lost) - try getting a local SIM, provided your phone is unlocked.

    If you are traveling abroad to Europe, in most countries here you should be able to buy a cheap SIM card from a convenience store. For instance, in Sweden, we have cash cards that cost about $20 USD. That allows people to call (no charge to you) and you to make calls until the money runs out. When I go to Greece, I will likely use that option just to be able to have a local phone in case I need one. I won't need to contact home, and if so, I can always use Fring.

    Oh, and to answer: Q1, if you have mobile network off, you don't need to worry about anything else. Q2, yes you are right. Wifi uses wifi. Nothing else.

    Tim

    p.s. In case you don't know, you can press and hold the power button to turn off the mobile network (among other things).
     
  3. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    100
    9
    56
    Tech Support
    Plymouth, UK
    I'm going to Gran Canaria in 2 weeks and am not taking my phone with me, i'm with Orange and you have two options as far as im aware. You can either phone them and arrange a short term roaming bundle that will soften the blow or get bent over a barrel for even having someone leave you an answer phone message.

    I have downloaded an app called Extended Control Bar that gives you the ability to turn off Data network, GPRs, WiFi, pretty much everything possible.

    I would recommend that as its only $0.79 or something and saves me money and battery life!
     
  4. kboya

    kboya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    401
    72
    53
    Hull, UK

    fair play, but all these widget options are available as standard
     
  5. Tonco

    Tonco Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    I've just returned to UK from Belgium. I'm with T Mobile. I switched off roaming and mobile networks in the tunnel (probably overkill to switch both off but that's what I did) which meant no data charges until I was ready. When I was ready, I switched both back on and tried to connect to the internet, a few seconds later I received the expected text from T-mobile which offers 2 options: the 1 day, 3Mb (I think) for
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Just make sure data while roaming option is not ticked on the mobile data settings.

    And you're set
     
  7. Hardcore

    Hardcore Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    238
    12
    58
    Costumer sales representative
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Where are you from Carlos?
     
  8. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Somewhere where around 25-30 years ago they used to play Hamlet adverts on the TV that featured a certain brand of super wide wheels :D
     
  9. DDjnr

    DDjnr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I have just returned from cyprus and I couldnt connect to any service providers there , I kept getting the error message that my sim does not allow connection to this network .any ideas on why this happens ? I`m with t-mobile uk
     
  10. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,071
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,071
    13,109
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Do you have international roaming enabled on your account? And enabled in the network settings of your phone?

    I realise that those are dumb questions, but if you answer "yes" to both it might be worth checking that your network thinks you have roaming enabled - it's always possible that they have made an error.
     
    AliJay likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...