1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Using HTC Desire S as a wifi hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tonyoung, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. tonyoung

    tonyoung Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    42
    1
    16
    Director
    London/Bristol/Torquay
    Does anyone have any experience of connecting a PC or tablet to a Desire S which is acting as a wifi hotspot?

    My Desire S claims to be acting as a hotspot when the relevant selection is made in Settings - and my Asus Transformer claims to be connected to it (as does my Toshiba laptop) but there appears to be no active connection.

    Is this a Honeycomb 3.1 or Gingerbread issue, or something to do with the lovely people at Orange?

    Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    Could be something to do with the APNs (Access Point Names) in your phone. Others have reported that changing these entries works.

    If you have no APN settings, you could try this, which works on the Desire.

    > Settings > Wireless&Networks > Mobile networks > Access Point Names

    Consumer Broadband > Edit the APN from consumerbroadband to orangeinternet

    Edit the Username from Not set to Orange

    Edit the password from Not set to Multimedia

    (These fields are case sensitive, so enter exactly as above.)

    Authentication type > CHAP.

    Menu > Save

    If there were no settings and the above doesn't work, then a call to Orange should sort it out, as I think it should just be a case of entering/changing the right settings, rather than any Orange/Android/HTC software conflicts requiring a wait for a software update.
     
    gigavic27, MikeyCooperH and tonyoung like this.
  3. tonyoung

    tonyoung Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    42
    1
    16
    Director
    London/Bristol/Torquay
    That worked a treat, by the way - thanks again!
     
  4. MikeyCooperH

    MikeyCooperH Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    54
    3
    36
    stock control
    England, UK
    Thanks for the advice. All i had to do with mine is input the user name and password data into the existing Orangeinternet APN. Orange = bunch of muppets

    This the exact reason why i'm a member on here, none of the usual rubbish when phoning the carrier and them replying "Have you tried turning it off?"

    Once again thanks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...