1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Using in other countries

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rappa, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. rappa

    rappa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    If I have an unlocked version of this phone, does it work in other countries like India? They haven't released this model over there, just the regular one and I'm wondering if the sims over there will work in this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,215
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,215
    28,007
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You will have to check the frequency bands supported by the carrier you intend to use. Most likely phone and text messaging will not have any problem. 3G data might not work due to frequencies T-Mobile uses.
     
  3. rappa

    rappa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    It's not the T-Mobile, its the one from Canada, the one that Telus has...
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,215
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,215
    28,007
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Still the same issue. Check the 3G/4G frequency bands for the carrier where you intend to go.

    According to Telus website, the phone supports 3GPP Release 8, 50/1700(AWS)/1900/2100 & Quad band EDGE
     
  5. rappa

    rappa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I want to use Airtel or Aircel. This is what it says:

    Airtel
    Network / Company: Airtel / Bharti Airtel Limited

    Network Technology: GSM / 3G

    2G Bands: GSM 900 / 1800

    3G Bands: W-CDMA 2100

    4G Bands: LTE (Planned)

    2G Data: GPRS / EDGE

    3G Data: HSDPA+ 21 Mbps / HSUPA 5.8 Mbps

    4G Data:
     
  6. rappa

    rappa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I dont know if that means it will work or not?
     
  7. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    180
    30
    43
    Artist
    New York
    Looks like you should be ok on that one, depending on coverage in the area.
     
  8. rault18

    rault18 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    56
    11
    18
    Sincity
    the galaxy S2 is a tetraband device..most likely it will..double check with the country you will be arriving to
     
  9. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    If your phone comes from the carrier, instead of the international model, you will need to contact your carrier customer service to request the unlock code so you can use other brand of SIM card.

    First of all, you are pretty sure to be able to use your phone for voice, WIFI and 2G in another country. For 3G/4G, you do have to check the frequency. However, from my previous Tmo HTC Sensation, it doesn't show the compatible 3G/4G frequency to be used in Hong Kong. However, I bought a SIM card in Hong Kong and load it in. It shows 4G in high speed, even though the carrier only provide 3G connection.
     

Share This Page

Loading...