1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Using phone abroad - no charges

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Goonerman1, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. Goonerman1

    Goonerman1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Hi all.....newbie to the forum. What a great place for info and tips on a brilliant phone!!!! :D (so much better than my old iphone!!!)

    I know that I need to turn off data roaming whilst on holiday abroad. I only want to use wifi and nothing else. To be doubly sure this is all I am doing would it be wise to also take the sim card out too???
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF, glad you've found us useful! :)

    As far as I recall the phone won't boot without a SIM Card, and it will reboot if you take the SIM out.

    If you want to be sure you don't incur excessive charges, do the following:

    Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Network (Uncheck)
    Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Data Roaming (Uncheck)

    There is no way to turn off the phone part of the phone without turning off wireless too unfortunately. However, if you're staying in the EU, Ofcom recently assisted in making sure that you don't get charged (or it's a very small amount) for when you're contacted. You only pay when you initiate the call/text. You might want to look in to what your providers rates are.
     
    Goonerman1 likes this.
  3. Amerie

    Amerie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    129
    32
    43
    Doncaster, UK
    Another way is to ask your provider to disable roaming on your SIM, that way there's no possibility that you can incur charges, however it also means that you can't make phone calls. With you mentioning removing the SIM I assume that's not an issue for you!
     
    Goonerman1 likes this.
  4. Goonerman1

    Goonerman1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Thanks for the info guys. Would putting the phone into Airplane mode not do the same thing??
     
  5. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Was just going to suggest that!! :)
     
  6. Goonerman1

    Goonerman1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    14
    0
    15

    so it would then????? ;)
     
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Airplane mode turns off the radio so Wireless wouldn't work in that instance unfortunately.
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Mustn't have read the post properly... didn't realise that WIFI was wanted. Turning on Airplane mode will mean that you definately won't be charged, as the phone cannot access any networks, so can't rack up huge bills... ok - as El P suggested, you can turn data off and ensure that roaming is unticked (that's what I did when I went to France)!
     
    Goonerman1 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...