1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Using ROOT (toggling read/write)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by westfall90, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. westfall90

    westfall90 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    78
    5
    36
    I've just rooted my phone and shabbyed it. I'm trying to replace the launcher that shabby has with the stock one. I cannot get the launcher.apk copied into the bloody apps folder. I'm using FileExpert which comes with shabby mod. How in the world do I toggle permissions/root in file expert or whatever to get this stupid file to copy.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I was having trouble getting in to some of the folders with File Expert too so I bought Root Explorer from the Market and NO MORE PROBLEMS ! :D
     
  3. Cheezee292

    Cheezee292 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    42
    8
    36
    cook
    Mesquite, Nevada
    I had problems with it too. So switched to ES File Explorer. No mas problems.
     
  4. westfall90

    westfall90 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    78
    5
    36
    Peeps are telling me that I have to use terminal and remount the system partition or some jazz and use su though. Is root explorer or whatnot going to work if I don't do that? Ill check out es file explorer while I'm waiting for a reply.
     
  5. westfall90

    westfall90 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    78
    5
    36
    Same thing with es file explorer. Says copy failed and I don't see anyway to toggle read write. Like I said I need to do this remount thing but I have not the slightest clue how. If someone could just direct me to a tutorial even.

    okay, so I've been TRYING to google this shiznits, and it's still confusing, but can anyone tell me if this will work/is correct?

    Can I just plug my phone into my computer, enable debugging, click ADB application/file which came with the root/shabbymod (I'm under the impression that adb will bring up a command prompt?) and then just type in remount in this command prompt? Also apparently need to remove the sdcard.
     
  6. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I dont think what your looking at will work.

    in order to use adb you need to open cmd easy way start menu/run/ type in cmd/ then when it opens you need to use the cd command, to change directory's. Go to the directory you have adb located. For example if you have android sdk located in your user folder, user name of john for simplicity's sake.
    at the prompt you would type cd android sdk
    the prompt changes to users\john\android sdk.
    Then using adb you would need to use the push command to put the launcher.apk into the folder. So say you had the .apk in john\downloads
    you would use adb push C:\Users\John\Downloads launcher.apk /system/app


    That would be the way to do it however you may run into permission error I do not know if there is any way to do it through adb because of that.
    the remount you talk about is needed but dont work.
     
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    Do you have superuser in your list of apps?
    If so click it and see if your file explorer has su privileges.
     
  8. westfall90

    westfall90 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    78
    5
    36
    I do have it in my app list but it just says "no Apps in list" and "no log information" in their respective screens.
     
  9. Purponic

    Purponic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    156
    43
    43
    To get root in File Expert you need to open it up and hit the Menu button on your phone, on the lil menu that pops up you need to click "More", on the operation menu that comes up you need to click on "settings", then on the next menu click on "File Explorer Settings", then you need to scroll all the way down and make sure "Root Explorer" is checked.

    To enable read/write permissions you just need to get to the file you want to enable and hold down on the file until a menu pops up, on that menu select "File Operations", on the next menu select "Permission"
     
    123mebreit likes this.
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    is there a check mark telling su to always ask for root permission?
    It sounds like nothing is given root permission.
     
  11. westfall90

    westfall90 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    78
    5
    36
    purponic got it :p thanks yous
     

Share This Page

Loading...