1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

using setCPU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by heshanj, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    i just installed SetCPU, one last attempt to get rid of the lockscreen lag..
    i installed it, created a profile.. selected Screen Off, set a max of 1200, minimum of 500. i selected the scaling to be ondemand (they recommend it for the SGS2 apparently, i dont know wat it means) but so far the lag remains the same.. around 1-2 seconds. not improved at all. do i have to set the minimum even higher? im not sure i wanna go higher coz this woudl probably drain my battery like a sink. lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    In my opinion the screen lag has nothing to do with the CPU but I could be wrong. Try it higher and see if it fixes it.
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Is 1-2 second really a lag. It takes me longer to remember why I took my phone phone out of my pocket. Anyway I don't seem to get any lag using Villairom 2.3. But to be honest I can't say I ever noticed it before I flashed.
     
  4. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    I had to check my own phone to see if I had it :) I do, its about a second.
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah after writing that post I seemed to notice it. It's there about half of the time.
     
  6. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    i know it sounds like nothing, but seriously it bugs me.. especially when its often closer to 2 seconds or even more. and it definitely is a lag. none of the other android phones ive used has it, and it really makes a difference to the feel. its one of the first things i noticed using it, and probably my only disappointment..i'll try pushing the cpu higher n report back

    EDIT: pushed to 1ghz, still the same.. i guess its not CPU after all? or setCPU doesnt work. lol
     
  7. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Didn't think it would be the cpu. I'm guessing its the way the firmware is wrote and something to do with sleep.
     
  8. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    well i guess that means its fixable, right.. i keep hoping that one of these many firmware upgrades fixes it
     
  9. lankunit

    lankunit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    66
    7
    16
    I would say its mostly firmware. On stock rom the lag was quite obvious when trying to wake the phone. Then on villain rom 2.3 the lag got better and now on Cyanogen mod the lag is almost gone (wakes up quite quickly most of the time and the home button lag is gone also =))
     
  10. Ozhak

    Ozhak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    38
    2
    36
    Actually it is a pretty normal anomaly especially when your device wakes up from deep sleep. The CPU is placed into lower mode and the OS placed into suspend, everything has been shut off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...