1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Using the phone abroad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drnvc, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. drnvc

    drnvc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    This is probably a ridiculous newbie question but will the Desire work in the US and mainland Europe?

    Also how do I ensure that no data transfer happens at all so I don't get stung? Obviously I won't be going on the internet and browsing intentionally, or checking emails, but is there a way to set up the the phone to never transfer data through any application e.g. scrobbling music, updating weather, finding updates in the Market?
    For example with the market, the phone seems to access it every so often to check for updates, which presumably would cost money if I'm abroad.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. martino

    martino Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    APNdroid is what you need. I'm not sure how well the disable data roaming setting works, however the application I mentioned will definitely stop any data connections.

    And yeah, the Desire will definitely work in mainland Europe. UK and Europe use the same network bands (if they didn't the market would be way too fragmented). Not sure about the US. Since it has quad-band GSM it should work anywhere in the world, unless US is like Japan and ditched GSM altogether. Sorry, I've lost track of mobile technology in the US, so hopefully someone else will be able to clarify that.
     
  3. Karolis

    Karolis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    70
    12
    18
    +1 for APN Droid.

    Regarding it working in the US, Desire supports 850/900/1800/1900, US mainly uses 850 and 1900, so the answer is YES, it will work in the US.

    I'm going to Lithuania in a week and I'm not even dreaming using my T-Mobile UK card as I would probably get bankrupt over roaming charges.

    What I did is unlock my Desire and I will get a local prepaid card (will cost me couple quid) for the week that I'm there.
     
  4. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    is it not just a queson of doing a long press on the on/off button and changing mobile network from On to Off ???

    Will that not stop it trying to & connecting to the net
     
  5. Karolis

    Karolis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    70
    12
    18
    I didn't even notice such option :)
     
  6. chicgeek

    chicgeek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    40
    0
    35
    web designer and developer
    Vancouver
    Newbie question based off of the above newbie question: same with Canada? I'm wondering how my phone will react when I visit home in Toronto.
     
  7. madnlooney

    madnlooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    76
    14
    18
    electronic Tech
    London
    yeah that is the easiest way to disable mobile internet
     
  8. Overdrive

    Overdrive Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    Hi, I also am noob, but if you want to disable internet go to settings then wireless & networks then tap mobile network when the tick goes so does your internet connection, but keep your wi-fi on as you should be able to connect at some free wi-fi sites....hope this helps:)
     
  9. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    I just downloaded a widget that does it :p
     
  10. Karolis

    Karolis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    70
    12
    18
    Canada uses the same GSM frequency bands as the US: GSM frequency bands - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
    chicgeek likes this.
  11. baggies9161

    baggies9161 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    retired
    Worcester
    Hi Overdrive
    Thanks for the tip. I am new to this great forum and new to my Ericsson Neo and was a little uncertain taking it abroad with me next week after all the horror stories of people returning with huge bills.
    I have gone into wireless & networks and unticked but there is no 'mobile network' I assume just unticking wireless & network should do the trick.

    Baggies9161:thinking:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...