1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Using this phone overseas with another carrier

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xefe, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. xefe

    xefe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    159
    21
    38
    I have a verizon phone that is utilized stateside when I am in the United States; Is it possible with a rooted galaxy nexus to use this phone in another country on a different network. Just by swapping out the sim cards? Dont want to have to buy and use multiple phones. The majority of my time is spent overseas and I would like to use this phone overseas with my carrier.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    the Verizon GNex (i515) is not compatible with international networks. for use overseas, you would need the GSM version (i9250). i wish they made a global model that worked on both CDMA/LTE and GSM/HSPA networks, but we're just not that lucky. :(
     
  3. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    What countries? Europe? No. Wifi over there, yes. Verizon uses a CDMA network and CDMA is not prevalent outside of North America except for maybe a few Asian countries. Most of the world uses a GSM network. If you want a global Gnex, you should sell the Verizon phone, cancel your contract, self-import an HSPA+ version of the GNex and put in an AT&T or TMo SIM.
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    But who would have thought of making a flagship phone a global phone? Oh yeah apple did:( I'm 100% in agreement it would have made much more sense to make the phone global.
     
  5. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,416
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,416
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    Not true.

    Call VZW and ask for their international department. I have in the past. VZW > internet.

    Sure your destination may not support cdma phones, but not every area supports gsm phones either.

    Sure there are different technologies inherent and a given, none have really been made clear.

    And the locked iphone comments are just hilarious.
     
  6. Droid_Junky

    Droid_Junky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    317
    91
    63
    Male
    Engineer
    Gulf Coast
    I was in three different locations in Europe for almost four weeks. No service anywhere. WiFi was my only option. I agree with the GSM comment. Everyone I dealt with there had a GSM phone and most were Android!
     
  7. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,416
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,416
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    op, xefe, didn't state which countries. You didn't either :D:D

    I think it was the imagio on vzw? Was a world phone with the additional radios, had that phone for like a few weeks. VZW international was more than happy to unlock it for me.
     
  8. xefe

    xefe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    159
    21
    38
    Brazil ... but it needs to be a quad band phone with a sim card. ended up not going with this phone but a samsung windows 7 one.
     
  9. Yellow Snowman

    Yellow Snowman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    344
    40
    43
    couldnt he use google voice for international calls?
     
  10. john30308

    john30308 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    241
    39
    43
    Several countries in Asia have CDMA networks as well - China included. I've used CDMA phones there in the past but haven't been over since I got my GN.
     
  11. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...