1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Using USA Nexus 5 in the UK and Europe

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peterc10, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Hi. I live in the UK and am thinking of buying a Nexus 5 from the USA, saving me a lot of money. Easy for me as my daughter lives there.

    If I did would it work in the UK, and large parts of the rest of Europe?

    I have checked specs for US and rest of the world models and the GSM and WCDMA bands are fine, because they are all covered by both versions. However the LTE (4G) bands only have some overlap. The USA has bands 1/2/4/5/17/25/26/41 whereas the rest of the world has bands 1/3/5/7/8/20.

    So my question is can I use just the two bands that are common to both (1 and 5) in the UK and Europe??
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Whether you will get LTE or not is going to depend on whether your carrier uses bands 1 or 5 for LTE.

    I'm from the US, and don't know much about the common bands over there, so hopefully someone else can chime in
     
    peterc10 likes this.
  3. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Thanks Rxpert83. Really I guess my question is aimed at UK/European based people who know the bands that our carriers over here use. We benefit from much cheaper calls and data plans over here - I can get 500 minutes and unlimited texts and data on a month by month basis for
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Something that might help someone from the UK when they get here:

    Do you have a carrier you are using already? We should at least be able to figure out if that carrier supports those bands. If not, we might be able to make some recommendations.
     
  5. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Yes I use Giffgaff, which piggy back of the O2 network. But I may change to another one which piggy backs off Vodaphone. An added complication will be when I take trips to the rest of Europe, where it is common to roam on other networks.
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Just be careful about warranty. AFAIK it's not worldwide, so any issues and it'd have to go back to the states.
     
  7. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Thanks for all your help. I have found out what bands are used in the UK and Europe and the result is that the US version will not work on 4G in Europe, which is the same conclusion as nx1977's. Look like I will have to pay through the nose in the UK!
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...