1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Using your Google Phone Number without VM for calls/texts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by exProphecy, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    Okay, I recently had to swap my phone number back to my Optimus V (due to an accidental DEATH of my Triumph) and was reminded of how AWESOME and reliable this phone was. I was thinking of this idea.. I'll start off with this: has anyone here used the feature on Gmail where you can make free calls to anyone in the US? It uses your Google Voice number (which is given for free). I was wondering.. is there anyway to program my Optimus V to have that phone number but only work through Wifi? It wouldn't be on any network but it would be like using Gmail and calling phones or receiving phone calls ALL for FREE. Only problem is you must be on wifi. Is this possible at all? I mean, couldn't we use QPST like we're changing our PRL but change the phone number? I love this phone and don't want to just have it as a backup but actually still use it. 2 day battery life is killerrrrr :adore:

    --------------------------

    If anyone else needs the ability to make/receive calls and send/receive texts (on wifi) without a working phone number set up:
    Step 1: Set up Google Voice through your browser, getting your free GV phone number
    Step 2: Set up GrooveIP (for your calls)
    Step 3: Set up Google Voice on your Android phone (for your texts)

    You now have a functional phone without paying any bills! However, only when connected to wifi.. >_<
     

    Advertisement

  2. gwz85

    gwz85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    Male
    You can use an application like groove IP that you can buy in the market.
     
    exProphecy likes this.
  3. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    I tried it but I can only seem to make calls but not receive them. Also, is there also a way to get SMS to work with it? You can receive SMS on Google Voice.
     
  4. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    It has had numerous updated recently, grooveip, it works both ways for me I just have it only as backup because I have 1600 minutes which I never get near. Texting can be done through the Google voice app. Notifications aren't as good but it works. I use it when texting someone I don't want to have my number or to mess with my wife.
     
  5. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    Oh wait, receiving calls works now! Well I tried setting up Google Voice on my phone but I need a phone number on the phone. The whole idea to this is to have no phone number set up on the phone itself but use my Google phone number to make calls and send/receive texts. I can now make/receive calls using GrooveIP but still trying to find a way to get texting to work.. =/
     
  6. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    It should give you the option to skip that part.
     
  7. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    It says
    To complete the set up:
    > Google Voice needs to verify your phone number
    > You need to decide which calls to make with GV
    > GV needs to configure your voicemail

    Then the next step shows my phone's previous phone number or add this phone. The "Next" button isn't clickable =[
     
  8. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Pick an option then it will error that's when skip option comes up.
     
    exProphecy likes this.
  9. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    Ahhhhh! Now it works thank you! It didn't error though, I had to choose my old number which accepted it. If I picked, "add this phone" it gave an error and didn't give a skip option. I can now receive texts through Google Voice but not calls. I suppose the best thing I can do is have GrooveIP and GV together to use calls and texts together?
     
  10. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    That's how I do it
     
    exProphecy likes this.
  11. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    You can also go into the web interface for Google Voice and tell it to forward calls to your mobile number.
     
  12. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    They don't have a mobile number so there just trying to use WiFi
     
  13. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    Yea this is specifically for using the Optimus V without a phone number or virgin mobile account set up on it. Thanks a bunch benslgdroid! If anyone else needs the ability to make/receive calls and send/receive texts (on wifi) without a working phone number set up:
    Step 1: Set up Google Voice through your browser, getting your free GV phone number
    Step 2: Set up GrooveIP (for your calls)
    Step 3: Set up Google Voice on your Android phone (for your texts)

    You now have a functional phone without paying any bills! However, only when connected to wifi.. >_<
     
    benslgdroid likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...