1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Using your Motorola Droid internationally--let me answer questions for you!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Xsequence, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. Xsequence

    Xsequence Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016

    Mar 16, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi Friends; I have a Motorola droid turbo, bought in the USA with Verizon and now working with Vodafone (Italy); can you explain to me what's the difference in the connection setting? What about global?? I only know that if I tap global my connection switches from edge to 4glte - no cdma here but wcdma - ; if I tap on lte/gsm/umts my connection goes in lte too. What's the best for me? For the battery too...thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    35,916
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    35,916
    41,279
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I moved this to it's own thread in the Droid Turbo forum. For clarification is this the first generation Turbo or the Droid Turbo 2?
     
  3. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    Global is really intended for Verizon customers who travel abroad with their Verizon SIM still in the phone and roaming on international GSM carriers with whom Verizon has a roaming agreement. Global will have the phone search for a CDMA/LTE signal first; if it doesn't find one, then it switches to GSM/LTE/UMTS. Switching that setting to GSM/LTE/UMTS skips the CDMA step.

    So - I'd suggest leaving it that way. If you travel to the US and buy a prepaid SIM from Verizon for your trip - then switch back to global (or to LTE/CDMA/GSM.)
     
    Thom likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...