1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Using youtube/video client vs flash

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Ronin12, Feb 16, 2011.

1. Ronin12

Ronin12 Newbie

Hi all! My first thread here!

I'm new to android and have a, maybe, silly question.

I've been using the iphone for awhile and I'm interested in trying out android. My phone of interest is the nexus s.

Many of the sites I visit on my iphone will give me the ability to view video in mobile format, using the youtube client or video client.

On android, it runs on flash, which isnt optimized for mobile. Im glad flash is available, but I rather have the os bounce me to a client and give me a mobile version that loads faster. Is this possible?

for example, sometimes I check out gametrailers.com. On the iphone, the site recognizes Im browsing on a iphone and gives me the "click to view on iphone" option which is faster, no ads, and looks great. I tried the same site on android and it loads the flash version which is slower and not as smooth.

Does android have the ability to run video from web sites in a mobile friendly version?

Thanks.

Advertisement

2. Ronin12

Ronin12 Newbie

bump. No one can give me an answer?

3. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member

Ok, Welcome to the forums!

Next - please don't bump threads without at least a full day passing - almost without fail, all threads here get a response.

Third - your question:

Well - working backwards - Android is highly configurable.

One popular configuration is to set the web browser to do on-demand plug-ins - meaning Flash video is just a placeholder until clicked - so - fast as the no-Flash plug-in, but still the Flash features are a tap away.

The iPhone is indeed popularly recognized by many websites - I've seen that in standard AJAX 3rd-party website editing s/w - web developers tend to get a number of features like that automagically.