1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Vanilla MMS ported for non-rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by adrenalinerush12, May 19, 2010.

  1. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    233
    118
    68
    I have finally figured out how to get the Vanilla MMS app ported for us 2.1 leakers that can't root. Thanks to jonasl over at XDA for helping me figure this out. Took some time.

    Problems that I have with it:
    -Every time someone sends you a message, it sends 2. It only notifies you of one, but two show in the thread. I'm trying to fix it.

    That's it so far, let me know of any you come across and I'll see what I can do.


    Screens:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




    Download: Mmz.apk



    Please DONATE if you love this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    233
    118
    68
    Wow, no one wants this? I've only been trying to do this for like 4 months.
     
  3. davros

    davros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    486
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    486
    15
    58
    Mr Mom, and when I do work, Screen Printer
    Central Mass
    Hmmmmm tho I do like handcent I'll give this a try

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  4. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I will throw out a thanks because of the effort you have put in to this. I've been happy with the stock Sense MMS and Swpye. I'll wait and see if you can get the two texts received at once bug fixed and then give it a shot.
     
  5. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    fix that double MMS glitch and I'm all over this
     
  6. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
    This :cool:
     
  7. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    191
    15
    58
    Male
    School
    Bay Area
    i would love this if i was not already on root!
     
  8. kkpsichologist

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I'm trying it and so far am pleased. I am still in the configuration process (getting it how I like it of course.) once the double message thing is fixed this will be awesome!
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    I don't mind the double messages. I absolutely HATE sense sms.
     
  10. snyluc13

    snyluc13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    Detailed Drafter
    Williamsport PA
    awesome job dude, gonna give this a try
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Do we have any update on the double MMS glitch? I still don't mind it. This is miles better than the stock app. just checking in to see what if any progress had been made.
     
  12. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    233
    118
    68
    I can't find where the problem lies. I think the reason is, since this is a STOCK messaging app, it's got same code as the stock HTC messaging app. Therefore, it getting messages from HTC's and this one, even though notifications for the HTC one are turned off. I just can't seem to find how to change that unless you're rooted..
     
  13. Zepplin

    Zepplin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    I don't get the two notifications.. Works just fine for me.. Good Job btw..Much better than the stock.
     
    oldngrumpy likes this.
  14. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    no double notifications?? Well time to jump on board
     
  15. Zepplin

    Zepplin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    My launcher pro even picked it up as default messenger so it's link to the dock on the bottom of the screen.. That's a big + for me!
     
  16. KrazyRay

    KrazyRay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Engine Builder
    Ann Arborr, MI
    Sounds good, I'll give it a try. :)
     
  17. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    So does Swype work with this?:thinking:
     
  18. fmadrigal

    fmadrigal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    172
    174
    68
    Insurance Broker
    Cerritos
    Yeah i get the double sms thing...
     
  19. Zepplin

    Zepplin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    I had handcent set as my default sms app when I installed this.. As soon as I installed and opened it up it gave me the box to set my default again.. Set it to this app and cleared the defaults on the others.. I never got double notifications in mine..
     
  20. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    you still only get ONE notification. The problem is you get the same message twice, at the same time.
     
  21. thetingster

    thetingster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    504
    31
    88
    Top Secret
    Utah, USA
    I can confirm the double message thing.
     
  22. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    Beuller?
     
  23. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Computer Technician
    Greenville, AL, USA
    You have to go turn notifications off on your other MMS/SMS programs. I had to disable notifications in Handcent and Messaging. The app works great! Love it! Thanks!
     
  24. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    233
    118
    68
    I know that you have to turn the notifications off, but that's not the problem we're having. We're getting ONE notification but TWO messages appear in the thread.
     
  25. zeroleonheart

    zeroleonheart Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    51
    6
    16
    Since no one has asked, I'll put my neck out there and go for it: if I dont like it, can I uninstall it? And also great job on your hard work. I'd love to try this out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...