1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Velocity 3g Unthrottled

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidKris, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53
    In response to ally 3g throttle hack? - Android Forums < this thread, I have successfully created a flashable .zip that will "unthrottle" your 3g speeds. Verizon automatically slows down your 3g once you reach a certain limit of Up/Download, (5gig I think). This zip, stops that. We pay for unlimited data, so why let them limit us? Anyway, the point is, flash this to maximize your 3g speeds if you use Velocity.

    Below is a link to the file on my mediafire account, and attached is a "clone" of the same zip. The file should be approximately 645.9 kb. Simply reboot to recovery, make a nandroid(in case something goes wrong), disable signature verify (since the file is unsigned), flash, reboot, enjoy unthrottled 3g.

    Edit: f.y.i, the only way to tell any difference that I'm aware of, is to run a speedtest (app on market) before and after flashing.

    Also, credit goes to death2all110 for helping me with the update script to make this flashable. Thanks for the help, I owe you one...or two.

    Velocity3gUnthrottled.zip
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. MikeW

    MikeW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    38
    12
    18
    Well I flashed it and I can't confirm if it worked or not but thanks!
     
    Hibikisan likes this.
  3. xepicxacidx

    xepicxacidx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    434
    42
    43
    Pennslyvaina
    Well i tryed it and it improved my speed by 100 kilobytes
     
  4. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Check the mobile network settings for a FC. sometimes this hack causes an FC on the mobile networ settings page
     
    heppy likes this.
  5. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    This doesnt cause force closes in the settings menus under mobile networks??
    Nevermind, its good to read. IIRC drellisdee had a way to apply this mod without the force closing, it was for the dinc though.
     
  6. d0nd0n

    d0nd0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    55
    7
    16
    N/A
    Ohio
    Thank you! :)
     
  7. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    I got the fc under the mobile network settings, will they stay the same? Ive still got the old services.jar if things ever go south
     
  8. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53
    I have no fc's under mobile network settings page...
     
  9. yohobojo

    yohobojo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    416
    46
    63
    Student
    Kennesaw, Georgia
    My 3g "supposedly" increased by 300kb. =D. Thanks for the flashable .zip.
     
  10. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    This isnt just going to make your data faster. But keep verizon from slowing you down like if they feel you use to much.
     
  11. yohobojo

    yohobojo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    416
    46
    63
    Student
    Kennesaw, Georgia

    Yeah. I know. I just passed my 5 gigs like a few days ago. Too much porn... Jk. Lol. I download a bunch of stuff from the internet.
     
  12. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53

    Call me stupid, slow, w/e, but what is IIRC?
     
  13. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    IIRC= If I remember correctly.
     
  14. iceman1110

    iceman1110 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    25
    3
    16
    Sure enough. Did a speed test before and after and gained around 300k. Thanks guy.
     
  15. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    I want to use this, sorry slight noob here, how would I go back for whatever reason?
     
  16. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    You can backup the services.jar file to your pc, use adb tp copy it to your sd card
     
  17. x-amp

    x-amp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,234
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    79
    14
    18
    is there any reason this would effect LG's clock weather widget cause im getting force closes with it
     
  18. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53

    It shouldn't. The services.jar doesnt touch any apk's as far as I know.
     
  19. x-amp

    x-amp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,234
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    79
    14
    18
    well for me its the only widget that wont work. ive reinstalled it, i installed the one you posted before and it too didnt work. I restored my nandroid backup and it works fine now.
     
  20. lomar24

    lomar24 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I went from 1.2mb/s to 2.8mb/s, thank you for the .zip! I was at 16gb used tho :p
     
  21. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Does this only work for the Ally?
     
  22. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Swc2001 the modded services.jar thats posted yes but this was ported from the dinc with my help but no credit though i found the How-To :( lol. What phone do you need it for? and i could probably port it.
     
    swc2001 likes this.
  23. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Dat Gum Brother you are on point.
    Oh it was just a curiosity more than anything. I mean I love the Ally but I know I wont have it forever. Probably another year at most. So I was hoping that it would work for future phones is all.

    However now I have to tell you again how impressed I am with you guys for porting this. It doesent matter that you read it somewhere. You guys still did it.
    Oh and thanks for the offer. I might just take you up on that in the future. Your Like a rock star from Mars or somthing...... Oh wait... No thats Charlie Sheen. LOL

    Seriously though
    Thanks

    Steve
     
  24. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ok next question will this work for other Roms besides Velocity 1.0?
    Maybe on 2.1 Roms as well? Like punisher 0.1?
     
  25. heppy

    heppy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I love you but now I gotta test this

    P.ss I will post before and after speeds.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...