1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Velocity + Tethering = $?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fruban, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    Just wanted to make sure... but my tethering with my rooted (Velocity) ally wont incur costs right? Kinda one of the big points of rooting? Ive just got the unlimited data plan going for me. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. McLovlein13

    McLovlein13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    271
    64
    53
    School
    Minnesota
    yeah its free
     
  3. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    "Wired Tether & Wireless Tether (built from source with extensive changes required for LG)
    -- Support was added for AP (infrastructure mode) so now devices like Android phones & Archos can connect that couldn't in previously in Ad-Hoc mode.
    -- A magic Samsung FW was also found that was needed for this.
    -- These apps are free to use and not trackable to carrier tethering plans and caps so tether away."
    http://androidforums.com/velocity/2...oid-2-2-1-froyo-super-fast-stable.htmlhttp://
     
  4. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    Thanks guys. I've been tethering for a few days now, and I had some observations/ possible questions? At first I was able to tether with amazing results - even streaming netflix using wireless tethering over my xbox 360 with speeds up to just over 2 Mbps, much to mu surprise. Playing WoW over the wired tether on my desktop was great too. The speed, however, seems to degrade over time. Restarting my phone seems to help, making the speeds faster for a time before degrading again.

    Still, the speeds after restarting don't seem to be as great as they were the first day or two after rooting/tethering. What are some factors that might be affecting speed? Would general Verizon network activity in the area during peak times of day strain speeds, for example?
     
  5. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Yes, and they could also be throttling you as well.
     
  6. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Yes D2all is right

    This is what helped me.
    Now when you reset the phone its as good as it was the first day you used it.
     
  7. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    I keep hearing/reading conflicting resports on whether they actually do throttle speeds or not. also DLed the unthrottled 3g speeds thing that wa posted a couple days ago...
     
  8. spiritofjon

    spiritofjon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    EMT/Firefighter
    Oregon
    I don't believe they are throttling everyone by default because there isn't a need. Also if they did this intentionally to everyone you know their competitors would be out there telling everyone in the world that their 3g/4g isn't really what they claim.

    That being said "unlimited" doesn't really mean unlimited. It only makes sense that once you cross a certain data point they would start to throttle you. Even home broadband providers like comcast and quest throttle your speeds or cap you once you hit a certain data thresholds.
     
  9. qwerty1

    qwerty1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    42
    7
    16
    asheville,nc
    Actually i saw a Sprint commerical the other night talking about how other carriers throttle and Sprint does not. Who knows though.
     
  10. joeymogul

    joeymogul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    Man, I would definitely say something is up with my speeds after tethering for a few days. I recently moved to a place where I don't have internet but was fine to use my laptop with my Ally (both wired and wireless tether). At first, it was respectable and I was browsing comfortably, but after a few days / gigs, it constantly disconnects and reconnects with a new IP killing my connection and current downloads. It's annoying. It's not signal strength because it averages -90. When I am downloading, the speeds are 60kb/s at best. I've seen it as high as 1.5Mb/s so I know they did something...

    I work for a company that uses Verizon devices for data and I know they do *something* to throttle / control usage...and I'm definitely experiencing it now.

    The good news is, near me is a plaza where some clown has a linksys router completely unprotected... I can jump on his wifi & even into the admin configuration with the default admin/admin login...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...