1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Verizon activation question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tpdtopcop, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. tpdtopcop

    tpdtopcop Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    89
    1
    16
    Okay guys quick question. My mother had upgrade on her account and she stated I could order a LG G2. Ordered phone online and it came today. Now she has not activated it and I do not have any Sim cards for this phone so can I just go to Verizon and get one to activate this phone or does it have to be activated on her line then switch her old phone back and then get Sim card for my line. Note we have separate accounts.

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    The SIM in a CDMA phone is for data, the phone still has to be activated to be used. But you should be able to do a simple ESN switch on YOUR account to this new phone. (I don't remember if VM still does ESN switching online. If not, just call customer service and ask if they can do an ESN switch for you. It should take about 5 minutes. (Do it when your mother's there - they may want to verify with her that they have her permission to activate her phone on your account. They may want her last 4, etc.) You can it at a verizon store (corporate or independent) if you prefer that, and you're both present. (Both of you bring your last bill with you, just in case.)
     
  3. tpdtopcop

    tpdtopcop Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    89
    1
    16
    We have different accounts and I am authorized user on hers so can I just call and switch from her name to mine and use Sim card that came with phone?
     
  4. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    Wait Did it come with a SIM card or not. You cannot just throw a SIM for another phone in there.

    If it has a SIM, conceptually online, you can switch over yourself providing the imei and SIM serial number on end of box it came in. If you don't have a data plan or wish to change yours you might need help of a rep.
     
  5. tpdtopcop

    tpdtopcop Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    89
    1
    16
    The phone came with a Sim card pre installed.
     
  6. steamer86

    steamer86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    216
    23
    38
    It must be activated on her line first since you did not transfer the upgrade between lines. You must activate it on her line, then reactivate the original phone, then you are clear activate on yours, with the help of CSS due to SIM.
     
  7. tpdtopcop

    tpdtopcop Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    89
    1
    16
    We have totally separate accounts? Still have to do it the way you described?
     
  8. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    I'm not so sure the poster has to activate it on his mom's line. I think with a valid IMEI and SIM, you can just switch over to a different device. His mom doesn't HAVE to activate a new phone does she? She can decide to extend her contract but stay on the old device. *I think*. :thinking:
     
  9. tpdtopcop

    tpdtopcop Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    89
    1
    16
    Well according to her Verizon account her old phone still shows and her update date is now 2 years from yesterday.
     
  10. steamer86

    steamer86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    216
    23
    38
    Ohhhh I got confused... thought you write authorized on hers with yours under it. My fault. The order isn't "complete" until she activates it first, then moves it. 14 day counter doesn't even start until this is done. You can call CSS, I'm sure they can do what you want, but it's just easier doing it that way. If you don't activate first on hers, expect to run around with CSS for a while. After 10 years with two accounts, I have seen how much of a pain this can be.
     
  11. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Should be able to go to My Verizon in the browser and activate it just like when you buy a used phone.
     
  12. belledee

    belledee Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    72
    11
    18
    Do you have unlimited data on your line? If so and you want to keep it, you would want to activate the phone on your mother's line first to retain your old plan.
     
  13. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    You only lose unlimited if you buy a subsidized phone on YOUR line.
     

LG G2

The LG G2 has a 5.2-inch display with 1080p resolution. It also has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, a 13 megapixel camera, NFC, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...