1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Best Custom ROM for Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by salilsurendran, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. salilsurendran

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    62
    0
    15
    Hello,
    Which is the most recommended Custom ROM for Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 2? Can I install it using a ROM Manager?
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Welcome to the forums!

    I'm on CleanROM and love it. It's just as Samsung intended the Note 2 to be without all of the crappy Verizon modifications. I'm still on 3.5, 4.0.5 is the newest now, so I might update just to update. Though I'm having no issues really at all on 3.5. ROM manager is about dead to me because there's not many good ROMs available on it, or many ROMs period nowadays. So of course I just checked and it's not available on there, but you can get it at that link I provided.

    I doubt there will be many more replies on here though. Somehow this sub-forum is almost dead :(. (now watch everyone post just because I said that :p)
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  3. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Another vote for clean ROM. It's very good.
     
  4. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #762
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    168
    4
    36
    Sales Rep
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Beans Build 6. I've been running Beans since it first came out and it's been flawless for me.
     
  5. AFAngryWarrior

    AFAngryWarrior Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    255
    40
    43
    Male
    I.T. Systems and Networking
    Rochester, NY
    I'm also using Jelly Beans Build 6. I started with CleanROM and then decided to try something else to compare it to so I installed JB Build 6. I have to say I honestly like Beans better. It runs smoother, and integrates withe VZW features well. You can check it out here

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2032447
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  6. ronhoney

    ronhoney Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    22
    3
    16
    Northern VA
    Beans!! Flexible customization, smooth as silk, & super fast.
     
  7. chriswells13

    chriswells13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012

    Dec 27, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I've tried both Clean Rom and Beans and I think Beans is much smoother.
     
  8. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Thats so weird to me. I've tried Beans twice now and I just didn't care for it. I REALLY prefer CleanROM.
     
  9. SteveOs Note

    SteveOs Note Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013

    I've been through about everyone out there including Beans 6 and CleanRom (1.0 "The VZW special" & the latest v4). Beans is definitely smoother, but overall build quality has to go to Clean. I appreciate that Beans has more setup options in Aroma, esp. The Perseus 31 kernel, but I think it forces you to then go straight down one path or the other based on your kernel choice.

    On another note (no pun intended), since starting my adventure in Note Rooting, neither my Bluetooth ear pieces or Wi-Fi tethering has worked at all. Let me correct my self. My Note usually recognizes the Bt devices, but it won't pair/connect to any of them. I have a Jawbone ICON HD, Playtronics Marquee 165, and a pair of Motorola S 10-HD Headphones. All of which worked perfectly with the stock phone.

    Lastly, after all the hype over the switching of your int sd with your ext sd, I purchased a SanDisk Ultra micro SDXC Class10 card. Adding insult to injury, it will not mount in CWM recovery. I can do what ever I want with it in my file explorers once the phone has booted, but to flash anything, I have to go back to my 8gb cards.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    Sincerely,
    Steve-O

    P.S. The 8gbs are fat 32 and the 64gb is exfat as per the format instructions from the original dev's thread.
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I use a Plantronics 590 and a Jaybird SB2 daily with my Note 2 and I havent had any problems. Also I use a 64gb class 10 exfat card without any problems in recovery BUT I use TWRP exclusively.
     
  11. BetaMan

    BetaMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    438
    55
    53
    Male
    Self Employed IT Engineer
    U.S.A.
    I'm still on Stock 4.1.1 and unable to install a custom ROM. Everytime I try to install a new bootloader, my phone pukes and I have to Odin the Stock ROM image back to the phone to fix it. What method did you guys (and gals) use to root your VZW Note 2? I installed a pre-rooted stock image via Oden but am unable to install a custom rom because my bootloader is still locked...
     
  12. AFAngryWarrior

    AFAngryWarrior Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    255
    40
    43
    Male
    I.T. Systems and Networking
    Rochester, NY
    I tried to use the "How to" over on XDA-devs in the GN2 section, but it didnt work for me and it didnt flow for me to easily understand it. Then I checked out the section on unlocking your boot loader by AdamOutler and the first step is rooting. So I ODIN back to stock and then followed his steps one-by-one and within a half hour I was rooted, my boot loader was unlocked, and TWRP recovery was working great to flash the Beans rom I wanted. Here is the link if you want to try it.

    How to Root & unlock boot loader - XDA-Devs
     
    MrBobo, BetaMan and GrandMasterB like this.
  13. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    That's the exact guide I followed too. Worked perfectly, even on my Mac.
     
  14. salilsurendran

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    62
    0
    15
    So if I install CleanROM or Beans will I lose all the features that I currently have with Samsung TouchWiz like double tapping on the top of the phone to scroll to the top of the list or just raising the phone to my ear to automatically make a call to the contact on screen?
     
  15. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    No. If you install CleanRom or Beans they include all the TouchWiz features because they are based on TouchWiz. If you install Paranoid Android or AOKP you will lose all TouchWiz features including use of the S-pen.
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  16. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    Stock with debloat done is great for me.
     
  17. BaadAndy

    BaadAndy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    80
    6
    16
    KY
    Clean Rom and Perseus kernel OC and undervolted are killer on my N2 I love the audio tweaks and control it opens up.
     
  18. BetaMan

    BetaMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    438
    55
    53
    Male
    Self Employed IT Engineer
    U.S.A.
    Well, I've been on the latest Beans for a few days and my phone is experiencing a few problems: Copy and Paste from 1 email to another will cause the phone to either lock up or exit email completely. While in "Words With Friends", if someone sends me a message through it, my phone will lock up requiring a battery pull.

    These 2 things didn't happen on either stock-rooted, or CleanROM.

    Anybody else experience anything like this?
     
  19. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I had 2 lock ups on Beans B7. Once when I was trying to login to my Gvoice, it completely froze and rebooted itself after about 2 minutes. And another when I was just sliding between home screens in Nova. I'm back on CleanRom ACE 4.2.5 now and loving it.
     
  20. BetaMan

    BetaMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    438
    55
    53
    Male
    Self Employed IT Engineer
    U.S.A.
    Yep! Just installed CleanROM ACE 4.2.5 today and have had NO problems so far! Like the look and feel of it better. Loving it myself!

    Thanks!
     
  21. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    I installed cleanrom ace 4.2.5 today but have a small problem. I cannot get gps to work ... any luck here ?
     
  22. MrBobo

    MrBobo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,203
    1,316
    313
    Male
    Business Analyst
    Dimondale, MI
    Gps works fine for me on clean rom, try gps fixer app
     
  23. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    gps fixer app ?


     
  24. MrBobo

    MrBobo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,203
    1,316
    313
    Male
    Business Analyst
    Dimondale, MI
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2
     
  25. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    I must be really dense; but I downloaded that yesterday and didn't see a method to use it to 'fix' gps. It sees no satelites even if outside for an extended period of time (40+ minutes). I tried manage a-gps state but reset didn't seem to do much.

    Is there some other setting I'm looking for to 'fix' gps ?

     

Share This Page

Loading...