1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] beware of Verizon software/Android update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kshrews, May 21, 2014.

  1. kshrews

    kshrews Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014

    May 21, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    The latest software update from Verizon for Samsung Galaxy noteS3/ Android creates the following problem. The software does not allow FoxFi version 4.4.2 to work. To get foxfi to work they force you to turn on and pay for the mobile hotspot service from Verizon. I wish i would have skipped this software update. Anyone have any idea on how to fix this problem? I do not want to"root" my phone to fix this problem.
     

    Advertisement

  2. artcwolf

    artcwolf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    200
    9
    36
    Newport News, Va
    isn't mobile data shared now on all devices? i know i've used my phone as a hot spot without a problem.
     
  3. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    Depends on your plan. I'm still on unlimited data and in order to use my phone as a hot spot, which is what the OP wants to do, you can't be on the stock Kitkat software and not pay the $30 a month.

    kshrews, to my knowledge there is no work around and probably won't be unless you root your phone. I'd imagine Verizon wants to keep that option closed.
     
  4. kshrews

    kshrews Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014

    May 21, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Mr clean,
    Thanks for response. I have unlimited data on my plan and Verizon would love for me to pay a monthly fee for using my phone as a hotspot. I'm going to email FoxFi and hope they are working to work on a fix for the software upgrade Verizon is pushing. :)
     
  5. artcwolf

    artcwolf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    200
    9
    36
    Newport News, Va
    ah that's why, yes when i was still on the unlimited plan i couldn't use the hot spot. I've since been stripped of that, (stupid kid needing a phone) so now i'm on the shared plan.
     
  6. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Rooting your Note 3 is really simple. I too am still on the unlimited data plan. I use the FoxFi for time to time to let the kids access the internet in the car, but use it very little. That is one feature I loved in the Nexus custom ROM's...most had hot spot built into the ROM's. To be honest, I haven't even looked at any of the Note 3 ROM's (4.3 ones) to see if it is built in or not.

    Anyone know if hot spot is built into Hyperdrive RSL7 or JellyBeans 4.3?
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,061
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,061
    12,946
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Hi Kshrews and welcome to Android Forums!

    Thanks for the warning about the update. I too am on unlimited data with Verizon, rooted my phone and installed a custom ROM (or operating system) called Hyperdrive. It has every benefit of the Note 3 but without any bloatware... and all the wonderful advantages of full, unrestricted Android. The ROM itself has OTA capability, so you know when an update is available: but VERIZON updates are blocked.

    I know you have indicated that you didn't want to root... but after weighing the advantages of rooting against any ideas opposed to it, it really became a no-brainer. We're here to guide you every step of the way if you ultimately choose that path.

    Give in to the dark side! ;)

    Anyway, it's great to have you here! Always feel free to ask any questions that you may have

    :)
     
  8. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Chief,

    I haven't had time to go through every feature in Hyperdrive yet...does it have tethering built into the ROM (like our old Galaxy Nexus ROM's did)? I have looked but hadn't found it if it does.

    Well, according to the ROM Info listing on xda is says "Unlocked Tethering Provisions" so I assume that means it does. That is the listing for 4.4.

    One more note, Hyperdrive has tons and I mean tons of built in features...love it!
     
  9. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    DC, it does have the native hotspot enabled. The funny thing is, I think it's ported from T-Mobile. :D
     
    darkcyber likes this.
  10. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I hate to be so dumb...but where/how do you access it? I know on the old Galaxy Nexus ROM's it was listed in settings...but I don't see anything about tethering of hot spot anywhere. Other than where is listed it in the ROM info.
     
  11. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    Your post says 4.4 are you on that or 4.3? On HD7 4.3 it's the native Verizon Hotspot. Just start the app and you're good to go. If it's not there, you might have to download it from the Play store. I'm assuming it would be there??
    With HD8 (4.4) there is a 'Mobile Hotspot' app.
     
  12. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Yes, I am still on 4.3. OK, so in Hyperdrive by just starting the native Verizon Hot Spot will work without getting billed by Verizon?
     
  13. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    That is correct. You won't get the subscription screen, it'll just fire right up. :D
     
    darkcyber likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...