1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Bootloader / Driver issue - HELP before I jump off the curb!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mr Marcus, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Mr Marcus

    Mr Marcus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    130
    15
    58
    DC
    Hello all- a bit frustrated here... (sorry, this might be long)

    I've rooted a few phones now, but never had to unlock a bootloader- shouldn't be a big deal, but it has already sucked a few hours out of my life.... maybe I shouldn't have inhaled way back in college. :eek: I'm sure I'm missing something simple... but the Googles are leaving me out to dry...

    Here's all the info I can muster on the problem....

    Getting the "Mobile MTP device failed" error on comp for device, BUT my laptop DOES recognize my GN in device manager, and drivers are downloaded. I switched the phone from MTP to PTP and back to MTP and that error went away, and I got all green checks... thought I was ok then it says "Unknown device" and driver software was not installed correctly... I've done it twice, and the comp does see my GN..

    WHAT TO DOOOO???!!!!!! Here's some of the specifics- I don't know what's relevant and not, so I'm giving it all to you... :)


    * GN is in MTP mode.
    * I've followed this link to a T and Device Manager shows my device successfully.
    * I'm following this vid to unlock bootloader and here's what haps.........


    When I open my 'android-sdk-windows' folder, the video suggests the 'adb' and 'fastboot' are located in 'tools' folder- mine are not- they are located in 'platform-tools' folder <---- no idea if that is relevant or not.

    Proceeding with the video, upon opening the cmd prompt out of my 'platform tools' folder, I type 'adb reboot bootloader' and the phone reboots as it does in the video (@ 2:10). Then for the next command, 'fastboot oem unlock' (@ 2:41), my phone just sits, DOES NOTHING. the cmd window says 'waiting for phone' endlessly.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr Marcus

    Mr Marcus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    130
    15
    58
    DC
    Ha, now I see Steven58 just posted a couple hours ago the one-step unlock/root. Guess I should have eaten breakfast THEN started working on this. **Steps away from curb**
     
  3. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    If you are getting that then it means the fastboot drivers didn't install correctly. Your computer isn't recognizing the phone as attached while you are in fastboot. I had the same thing happen to me when I tried to unlock the first time.

    From what I can remember, all I did was follow the instructions for the device manager fix. Go into device manager and manually install the fastboot drivers, while the phone is in the bootloader.
     
    Mr Marcus likes this.
  4. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    lol!!!
     
  5. NSRacer

    NSRacer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Make sure you have WMP 11 installed on the PC you're using. I know, you're probably like, "huh?" Trust me on this one; ask me how I know lol!

    David
     
    Mr Marcus likes this.
  6. Mr Marcus

    Mr Marcus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    130
    15
    58
    DC
    ^ Hmmm, will look at this too- thanks...

    ^ Hmmmm.... I have v12.0.7601....... are you saying I need to go back a version or two or I'm ok?
     
  7. NSRacer

    NSRacer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    No, sorry - at least version 11. If you're on 12, you should be fine...

    David
     
  8. Mr Marcus

    Mr Marcus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    130
    15
    58
    DC
    Cool, thanks- never know with these things lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...