1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

[Verizon] cant install OTA update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lohung, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    385
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    ok so the update came out the other week and it keeps asking me to install it but i can't. It goes to install it and it says "signature failed intall aborted

    now i am rooted and unlocked and i am running CWM 8.0.2 and nova launcher. is it the CWM8.0.2 thats not letting me do it
     

    Advertisement

  2. beefamato

    beefamato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    I had a similar problem. I was unlocked and rooted, but otherwise stock. After looking at the "install aborted" screen, I noticed that it was tripping up because it was looking for the "vzwbackupassistant.apk" that I deleted when I first rooted. If you did that, then you need to reinstall it in recovery mode.
     
  3. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,646
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,646
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    Hey Lohung, yeah, it's CWM that's causing the problem. You need stock recovery to accept an OTA. You could just flash a stock IMM76K build and get the same result, that's what I did.

    PS I moved this to the All Things Root section. Thanks for understanding. :)
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    plus one to flashing the pre rooted build. I did the same.
     
  5. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    385
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    anyone know where i can get the pre rooted build from
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,179
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,179
    8,672
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Lohung and trophynuts like this.
  7. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    385
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    i looked at it and it seems like the updated version.. says that it doesnt include the radio's and such... does that mean i will flash that and it will still install the OTA update?

    a little confusing for me.

    i looked and tried to find the original but i couldnt on hat site
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,179
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,179
    8,672
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah you can just flash the radios separately:

    [CDMA][Radio][Bootloader]4.0.4 IMM76K Radios and Bootloader - xda-developers
     
  9. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    385
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    heres the thing i dont want to flash them separately.. i am totally new to all this rooting and i would like to take the least amount of "new steps" as possible ATM.. thats why i would like to the 4.0.2 stock.. then let my phone update.. instead of flashing several things which i wouldnt know if i was flashing the right thing or not so can someone either link me the stock one for 4.2
     
  10. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    If you want to stay rooted you pretty much have to flash two separate zips. No roms include firmware. Which is why you have to flash the firmware separate.

    If you really want to go through it the stock normal way. I recommend restoring your device to stock and relocking the bootloader.
     
    Lohung likes this.
  11. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  12. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    385
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    thanks i did that... installed update and now i am trying to re-root. iread somewhere there is a feature that keeps kicking back the original recovery and i need to delete or rename it.. but i cant find a "file explorer" that will let me do this.. anyone know anything?
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,139
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,139
    23,261
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I do ;) :p :) :D.

    I already directed Lohung to my Android Root Toolkit app which has a "make recovery stick" option / feature.

    Also, this post details how to do this manually:

    http://androidforums.com/verizon-galaxy-nexus-all-things-root/474570-how-all-things-root-samsung-galaxy-nexus.html#post3736600

    Cheers!
     
    trophynuts likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...