1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Verizon coverage ?

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by Talon1987, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Talon1987

    Talon1987 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I recently switched from AT&T to Sprint for the EVO 4g, well needless to say i couldn't get any signal in my house with sprints network, so i have switched back to AT&T for the time being (have had really good service with AT&T). Which brings me to my question if i were to switch to Verizon which is also a CDMA network would i have the same issues i had with sprint??
     

    Advertisement

  2. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    Well you surely did need to say that you got no Sprint coverage at your house. How would we know otherwise?

    To answer your question, even though Sprint and Verizon are CDMA, they run off of different towers. Verizon may have a much better signal at your house than Sprint or even AT&T. The only way to find out would be to get a Verizon phone and test it. Or you could check a coverage map but those are not always accurate.
     
  3. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    I second testing the Verizon phone. Verizon does use the same towers out here, but they might be making use of the spectrum that they won because the service in buildings is a lot better than my Sprint using coworkers.

    Your mileage may vary but I hope you find something that can give you good coverage. It may also be your phone. I have had two phones of the same model on my VZW account and one of them could not get a signal in my house. (Of course that one was mine...)
     
  4. ckeegan

    ckeegan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    381
    126
    68
    My wife could never get service from Sprint at our house, and I have never had any issues with Verizon. Now she doesn't have any issues with Verizon, since she switched. Her company phone is AT&T, and she has to go to a certain part of the house to answer calls.

    AT&T's coverage viewer claims we're on the line between good and best, so apparently their definitions of "good" and "best" are different than mine.

    Sprint's coverage map also shows our house as best, which is a lie. Maybe they mean best for not being able to make calls.

    We're not in a rural area either. We live 15 minutes from downtown, in a metro area of over 1.2 million people.

    You definitely have to test it yourself though. You've got 30 days with their worry free guarantee. Or you could always track down a friend with Verizon service.
     
  5. Talon1987

    Talon1987 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for the replys everyone. Ya I live about 25 mins from downtown chicago and sprint says I have the best coverage but in reality I have to drive about a block from my house to get any coverage. But I will try to track down one of my friends with verizon or I'll wait until the droid x is released and switch. Thanks again
     
  6. ckeegan

    ckeegan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    381
    126
    68
    A buddy of mine lives about 20 minutes from Naperville, and he switched from AT&T to Verizon about a year ago. I always got on his case, because he was the only one in our group of friends scattered around the US who wasn't on Verizon.

    I've never heard any complaints from him at all.
     
  7. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Surprising sprint didn't work there, I am not a fan of sprint, but always preferred them in Chicago. Oh well get what works, sprint is horrid here, so VZW for now.
     
  8. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    I live a few hours from Chicago and whenever I go there, my Hero has great service the whole time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...