1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[Verizon] Crap - help needed with rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Needsdecaf, Dec 30, 2011.

1. Needsdecaf

Needsdecaf Android Expert

OK, not new to root, so pretty familiar with CWM recovery, etc. Here's my problem.

I should start by saying I am doing this on a Mac. I am pretty new to Mac (one month) so I am a little uncomfortable, but not terribly so.

I unlocked the boot loader using the instructions shown above. No issues there.

Next I downloaded the su.zip file and the CMW recovery 5.5.0.4-toro.img file.

When I look in finder, the su file isn't called "su.zip". It's just a folder called su. OK.

I boot into fast boot mode. I flash CWM recovery and no issues there. I boot into recovery and see the familiar CWM recovery menu. This is where things start to go awry.

I try to push the su.zip folder over to the phone using adb. I got an error that it cannot find the file so I try the second command. Still no dice. I try it again, after re-naming the file to su.zip in finder. This time it appears to push over saying 8 files transferred.

Now the real trouble.

I go to flash the su.zip root package so I select "install update from sd card" and look through the files. su.zip is not there. Oooookay. So I go back and attempt to reboot the phone. Nothing. I press the power button and the phone goes dark. Press again, I'm back at the menu. Pressing the power button will not reboot the phone.

Battery pull.

Re-boot into fastboot mode.

Try to boot into recovery. Get the "dead droid" image with the exclamation point over his chest.

Battery pull.

Reboot standard. Phone starts.

Reboot into fast boot.

Re-flash the CWM recovery.

Boot into recovery.

Still have the issue. Cannot find su.zip even though I pushed it again successfully, and cannot restart out of CWM.

Another battery pull.

Reboot standard, phone starts.

Reboot into fast boot.