1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] cyanogenmod wont boot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by clownycashew, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    I just decided to root my gnexus and I downloaded and installed to cyanogenmod rom. I restarted my device and the boot logo just keeps spinning. I am afraid I might have ruined my phone. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Metroid Prime

    Metroid Prime Oil Can!!! Oil Can!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    9,110
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    9,110
    2,921
    443
    Male
    Learning web development
    Texas
    Which carrier are you with?
     
  3. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Also, which custom recovery and how did you try to install your rom would be very helpful to know.
     
  5. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    I am using clockworkmod. I used rom manager to install it.
     
  6. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Alright, two final questions and then we'll start the process to fix it. What exact versions of CWM did you use, and which version of CyanogenMod did you try to install: 9, 10, or 10.1

    Edit: I have also moved this into the Verizon ATR subform in order to attract more specialized help.
     
    clownycashew likes this.
  7. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    I used the newest cwd that rom manager uses. I installed cyanogenmod 10.1.
     
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Alright, Generally when I install custom roms I like to do it manually in recovery. That way I know the correct things get wiped.

    So my first suggestion would be to first get into CWM manually. You can do this by first going into fastboot mode by holding vol up + vol down + power while the device is off. You should see an android laying down with it's stomach opened up and the word start in green at the top. Use the volume down to change it from start to reboot recovery, then use the power key to select. After that, the device will boot into CWM.

    Once in CWM, you are going to want to preform a couple of wipes to make sure anything from the stock rom is gone. You will first select factory reset from the main menu. Second will be a wipe cache from the main menu. Third will be format system in the mounts and storage. Fourth will be format/wipe (can't remember which) dalvik cache under the advanced menu option.

    Once all 4 wipes have occurred, go back to the main menu and go to install from sd card, then the option to let you pick. Locate where your CM10.1 rom and gapps are and flash those in those exact order 1 right after the other. Once done, return to the main menu and reboot the device. It should boot up now, though it may take a couple of minutes, but no more than 5.
     
    clownycashew likes this.
  9. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    thanks hopefully this will work Ill check back in 5.
     
  10. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    yes it worked thank you
     
  11. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    how do I download the google play app
     
  12. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Sounds like you didn't install gapps while in recovery. if you didn't initially download it, give me a second and I'll provide a link
     
  13. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    your right ill do that
     
  14. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    clownycashew likes this.
  15. clownycashew

    clownycashew Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    I already had them but thanks
     
  16. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Alright, cool. Flash those and you should be golden.
     
  17. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    Awesome stuff there jhawk! People on this site always amaze me...
     
    jhawkkw likes this.
  18. hiflyer901

    hiflyer901 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi I had the same problem with the CM 10.1 wouldnt boot up. I went through the steps you outlined and did it manually through Cyno mod 5.1 or the latest one. I re-did all of it and then when I went to install zip from SD card, I had no files on my SD card. Any ideas.

    Ok so a minute after I sent this. I tried it again and on my SD car there were two things left. "0" and 0BB. I chose the "0" and it then brought up my SD card. Not sure what happened there. Any light would be appreciated.
     
  19. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,409
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,409
    832
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
  20. ramllo

    ramllo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013

    Sep 3, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I did this to my galaxy infuse 4g with the correct cyanogenmod file and it stays in the samsung startup screen, i dont know how to get it back to its normal status, any help??????:(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...