1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Do I need BusyBox on my rooted Gnex?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Old Member, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,583
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,583
    1,904
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I've had a rooted Dinc and now my rooted Gnex. I feel like I know what I'm doing most of the time but I still don't know what the heck BusyBox is and why I need it.

    First, I NEVER use it other than opening it after an update and installing it. Is it important or can I/should I uninstall it?

    Am I missing out on something that I could be doing with it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53

    If you use titanium backup, it has to have busybody to work properly. It will install a version if one isn't already installed. Other than that, there are a few other root apps that use busybox, I don't exactly have a list for you though, sorry.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,306
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,306
    23,763
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I have to have a busybox installed--but that's mostly because I do a lot of adb shell work on my phone (i.e., navigating at the Linux command line level).

    busybox is invaluable for that, IMO.
     
    Old Member likes this.
  4. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,583
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,583
    1,904
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    So if I understand it, as long as I'm not programming in Linix, outside of a few remote apps, I truly don't need it. It's not that I need space on my Gnex. I just thought that I was missing out on something very cool.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,515
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Other than the few apps that need it, I use it for fun.
    I have cron running, I use it to reboot my phone on a schedule.
    I use it to rename files or put ringtones and notifications in /system.
    I use it to run sar just for fun.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,306
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,306
    23,763
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Nope, you're good to go! :)

    Its handy for certain manual things, but if you don't specifically have a need, then you shouldn't need to worry about it.

    Cheers!
     
    Old Member likes this.
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,010
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Vi is sort of nifty.

    In a weird sort of way.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...