1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support [VERIZON] does foxfi work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rabiddawgs, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. rabiddawgs

    rabiddawgs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    106
    19
    58
    For those on verizon does foxfi work?
    we are getting ready to go on vacation and the kids would like to use their ipod touches to check there emails while we are gone. thats about all it will be used for. so wondering if it works or not.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmanindfw

    dmanindfw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    178
    40
    43
    IT Security and Networking Sales
    DFW, Texas (N Richland Hills)
    I would like to know this as well. Foxfi works great on my DX...hoping it does on the S3 too
     
  3. Kneeoil

    Kneeoil Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    31
    0
    15
  4. rabiddawgs

    rabiddawgs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    106
    19
    58
    i saw that thread but i did a search last night. thank you. and can't wait for your results.
    also if you could say if its bluetooth only or if it is wifi mode
     
  5. mkymkyxp

    mkymkyxp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    7
    2
    6
    Dunedin, FL
    Works fine for me.
     
  6. fevs

    fevs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    24
    0
    15
    just checked, Wifi isnt working on mine. Its not showing up as a wifi conection
     
  7. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #466
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    yes, does work. You may have to give it a sec and keep trying. Using it to post this now.
     
  8. _Aardvark

    _Aardvark Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    376
    76
    53
    NJ
    Seconded. Tried it this morning and it worked fine, connected my wifi-only kindle to it, worked like a charm. I didn't enable any security, I used only the default settings.
     
  9. rabiddawgs

    rabiddawgs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    106
    19
    58
    thank you for all the replies... looks like for most it will work. those that dont maybe a setting on their phone
     
  10. Kneeoil

    Kneeoil Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    31
    0
    15
    Worked for me tonight as well. Yippee! VZW S3 connected my work laptop to the internet wirelessly.
     
  11. laptopquestion

    laptopquestion Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012

    Jun 28, 2012
    289
    53
    73
    Rooted or unrooted? Not really clear from the tethering post.
     
  12. fevs

    fevs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    24
    0
    15
    Ok My mistake, I tried it again and it works good.
     
  13. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #466
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    Foxfi specifically works for unrooted phones which is the magic. Mine not rooted.
     
    laptopquestion likes this.
  14. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    519
    110
    93
    Male
    Chicago
    Foxfi is simply amazing. Another reason I ditched apple.
     
  15. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I guess the one and only "positive" of capped data is the carriers are not as concerned about this app since either way, they get their money ;)

    The carriers are counting on the unlimited folks to slowly but surely die off.
     
  16. kayst

    kayst Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    432
    63
    73
    Austin, TX
    My home internet was down all day yesterday and is going up and down today. I've been using Foxfi and it works great, although it does sometimes have trouble connecting at first. My computer sometimes has trouble finding it.

    I tried the Foxfi addon because I thought it would let me see and manage the connected users but it didn't. Is there any way to see who's connected to the hotspot?
     
  17. smguy101

    smguy101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    97
    9
    16
    Military
    El Paso, TX/Colorado Springs, CO
    SVTP Wifi Tether also works, but you have to pay for the app.
     
  18. zoxxo

    zoxxo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    528
    75
    98
    Issaquah, WA
    I know that FoxFi works, I set it up tonight with my Moto Droid RAZR MAXX and my Nexus 7 and it worked great. My question is: does it mask the tethering from Verizon? I'm still on an unlimited data plan and I would really like to keep from getting that surprise phone bill from Verizon if they discover that I'm tethering...
     
  19. outchillaxing

    outchillaxing Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012

    Jul 18, 2012
    18
    0
    15
    I don't think any data used from tethering is masked even with a rooted tether. No matter how you tether you are still using data. On that note, my brothers and I been using upwards of 60 to 100gb every month on a family plan ever since 4g phones were introduced. No crazy bill yet. Hope I don't jinx it :)
     
  20. zoxxo

    zoxxo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    528
    75
    98
    Issaquah, WA
    It was recently announced that Verizon can't penalize anyone on a shared data plan for tethering. However, it's unclear and possible that Verizon can still go after people that tether who are on unlimited data plans (like me). I would prefer not to find out.

    The documentation for Foxfi suggests that you can mask the external data usage by setting up a proxy server on your phone. I was able to setup a proxy today and connect with my tablet and surf the web. Now I have to wait and watch my bill to see if Verizon catches on...
     
  21. outchillaxing

    outchillaxing Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012

    Jul 18, 2012
    18
    0
    15
    I was never aware of setting up a proxy. Guess i should read the disclaimers more often now. I dont want any of us to lose our unlimited or get charged for it. But it's so hard for them to prove that you are tethering though. unless you are downloading and using upwards of 100gb on just one line, am i wrong on this?
     
  22. zoxxo

    zoxxo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    528
    75
    98
    Issaquah, WA
    Honestly I don't know if they have a way to tell. But I have read a few horror stories where people have received bills from Verizon where Verizon has detected tethering and charges for the data usage.

    I prefer to be prepared...
     
  23. Funnyusername

    Funnyusername Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    319
    50
    53
    Male
    The chances of using foxfi and getting caught is like pirating movies. Can it technically happen? I guess. Will it? No.
     
  24. whitefarmhouse

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    HELP!!!!!!!!!!! I can't get FoxFi to work. My computer finds it, and says it's connected, but it says there is no Internet Connectivity in the Access Type. I've tried changing the FoxFi name to a longer one, and it still won't work. If you have any ideas, please pretend you're helping a 5 year old with a problem - that's about my level of understanding with all this stuff.
     
  25. sargeslaughter

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    In the FoxFi app, uncheck "Activate Wifi Hotspot" then put the checkmark back in. (re-enable it), try to connect. This happens to me quite alot. Another fix is to reboot the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...