1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] dropping from 4G to 3G ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TeeX, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. TeeX

    TeeX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    42
    4
    16
    I keep finding my Verizon Note 2 has dropped from 4G to 3G. Nothing I do changes it back (tried to switch data modes, toggle Wi-Fi, etc) except a reboot.

    When I reboot, 4G is back no problems, but it's a pain, and I can't figure out why it keeps doing this.

    I would like to think it's a Verizon network issue, but 4G is right back when I reboot, so it's not like a network outage.

    Has anybody else had this?

    Is this a flaw with my radios? Any other suggestions?


    I'm stock but rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    I have not had this issue on my Verizon Note. I work in a weak 4G area too, where my previous Galaxy Nexus never got 4G and my Note always picks up 4G there even when I go down to our basement (where I get 1X and 3G data) and come back. My Note always switches back to 4G at my desk. Even though I only get like 1-2 bars of it.

    So I'm not sure why you're experiencing that. Maybe complain to Verizon to see if they'll switch it out for you..?
     
  3. twister6

    twister6 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #77
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    2,241
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    2,241
    919
    223
    On Verizon as well, and it happened to me last evening for the first time in 1.5 months since I got the phone. All of a sudden it switched from 4G to 3G and I couldn't get it back. Had to reboot the phone to get back to 4G. I remember when I had my DX/3G, I used to dial *228 every other month to get a better connection to the nearest tower. I have been told with 4G phones it happens automatically since they are upgrading and adding new towers all the time. So I'm wondering if that what happened after some local tower upgrade where it couldn't sync up and needed reboot to fix that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...