1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Fully Rooted with Superuser but doesn't enter CWR

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shaddyyy, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    Fully Rooted with SU permissions but phone doesn't enter CWM. I also get this error where the android logo has its chest open and it has a red hazard symbol. The only time i seem to be able to enter recovery is when i go through the unlock and root process again. Anyone able to help me out?

    and now it keeps boot looping and i have no idea what to do
     

    Advertisement

  2. diablo1313

    diablo1313 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    33
    10
    18
    Software Tester
    Cleveland, OH
    Sounds like you didn't actually flash clockwork recovery. You may have just run it to install superuser. I would recommend loading up fastboot and then flashing recovery. You should be golden after that.

    Command:
    fastboot flash recovery "filenamehere.zip"
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  3. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    how do i load up fastboot? plus its bootlooping and super user is already installed. so i cant do anything
     
  4. diablo1313

    diablo1313 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    33
    10
    18
    Software Tester
    Cleveland, OH
    you load up fastboot long before it would be able to bootloop and superuser has nothing to do with any of this. Hold both volume buttons and the power button until you get the haptic feedback. Now it will boot into fastboot mode. Then you need to open a command prompt on your computer and plug in your phone. Then make sure you can find the fastboot device and have at it. It's super easy. How did you root your phone to begin with?
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  5. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    i used to 1 click method. Oh i see cwm 5.5.0.4 now when i hold all 3 buttons. i was just trying to enter recovery using volume down and power. thought it was the same for my thunderbolt. i just recovered my stock nand backup and its working!

    it was just bootlooping because of the rom i tried to install. i just didnt know i had to use all 3 buttons to enter recovery
     
  6. diablo1313

    diablo1313 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    33
    10
    18
    Software Tester
    Cleveland, OH
    Yep. All 3. Glad it works.
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  7. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    but now that i load up recovery again after restoring everything. I get the android with the red hazard symbol again. i know cmw just worked to restore my backup but i have no idea whats going on now
     
  8. diablo1313

    diablo1313 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    33
    10
    18
    Software Tester
    Cleveland, OH
    I would try pushing clockwork recovery through fastboot. If you do it that way you know it is there for sure.
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  9. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    how would i push cwr through fastboot. do i have to download it?

    getting it all to work on this is more of a pain than on my thunderbolt =/
     
  10. XxMalicexX

    XxMalicexX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Gov't Contractor
    Oceanside, CA
    i was having the same problem even though i flashed cwm. i went into /system with root explorer and renamed recovery.boot.p to 1recovery.boot.p and then reflashed cwm thru fastboot. its been working ever since, apparently the phone tries to use the recovery.boot instead of using the cwm recovery you flashed.
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  11. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    what are your steps to flashing cwm through fastboot? I just work well when i have steps i can follow. where did you download cwm too?

    and mine reads recovery-from-boot.p
     
  12. XxMalicexX

    XxMalicexX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Gov't Contractor
    Oceanside, CA
    yeah that is the file I couldn't remember exactly what it was off the top of my head. so change that file to 1recovery-from-boot.p and reflash. http://androidforums.com/verizon-galaxy-nexus-all-things-root/469049-how-root-vzw-lte-samsung-galaxy-nexus.html go there and do what it says under clockwork recovery to see how to flash it.
     
    shaddyyy likes this.
  13. shaddyyy

    shaddyyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    130
    17
    38
    the adb is giving me some difficulties. i guess i can just use the 1 step process and lock it and unroot and start over again.
     
  14. XxMalicexX

    XxMalicexX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Gov't Contractor
    Oceanside, CA
    once you root it you can just plug it into your comp and drag and drop the su.zip into your sd and install it thru cwm i think that is what i did. if that is what you are talking about when you say you have adb issues
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...