1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Google Wallet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RoadSuper, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    I've been reading some stuff about NFC and Google Wallet, which seems to be the way to use it. I have never utilized the NFC in my GS3 but it is really cool and I would love to start using it.

    So I'm wondering, is Google Wallet the way to use NFC the "right way" currently? Does it really work, and is it secure and tested enough? Is it really available at all at normal places that I'd go?

    Just wondering if it's something worth looking into. Thanks :D

    Eric
     

    Advertisement

  2. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    It works very well.
    You can also use the Samsung Tectiles with your NFC.
     
  3. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
  4. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    I am rooted, and on Verizon. I will try to figure out how to get the google wallet then :D I'll report back with questions :p. I used an app that's actually available on the play store that is supposed to show locations that use the google wallet functionality and assuming that it's not out of date, there weren't many places nearby that offer it. But I am gonna get it just to try haha.

    Thanks
     
  5. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok well I just tried it and I think I screwed up...I downloaded Busy Box, and downloaded the file from that XDA page, it downloaded the wallet installer, I selected the option to restore my built.prop and now phone is off and won't turn on :eek: i only get the samsung thing and then it turns back off, even after pulling battery :O
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    What ROM are you on? Do you have a nandroid to restore?
     
  7. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Cleanrom 5.6 and yes I have one, but it's not of cleanrom i think it's of stock, before i flashed cleanrom
     
  8. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    If i plug it into computer, it shows the battery icon, but when i try to power on, it only will attempt to come on one time per battery pull, and it shows the "samsung" and then that goes away then the "Galaxy SIII" comes up like normal and then when that goes off it just won't do anything else.
     
  9. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Can you get into recovery?
     
  10. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Yes, I am now in recovery
     
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Then try to clear cache and dalvik cache and reboot.
     
  12. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Nope still the same thing, shows samsung, and galaxy sIII logos and then nothing
     
  13. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I'm not on my computer at the moment but for now it sounds like you will have to either reflash CleanRom or restore your old nandroid.
    I don't know what went awry but we can try it again later.
     
  14. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok, I am going to try to finish up re-flashing Cleanrom and then the Theme on top , and see if it is back to normal...I don't know what could have gone wrong though, and how I could do it right the second time. Assuming that it gets fixed here to begin with!
     
  15. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    New Problem...I re-installed rom, then the darkhorse theme, just like i did the first time, and now it reboots into the darkhorse lightning flash animation, and sticks there forever...until i pull battery...but it does the same thing every time, never gets past the flashing lightning....?? weird...
     
  16. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok well I went back and did it yet AGAIN and reflashed the rom, no theme this time...eventually got it to work after a lot more hassle and frustration. It's now on and wiped clean so I really don't have time to set it all back up right now since it's very late, but I'm glad I will at least have a working phone for tomorrow! and it looks like it's gonna be repairable thank goodness lol...thought it was a gonner :p...Tomorrow when I get any free time I will work on setting up the ROM again.

    If there is anything else you can think of to try again for the google wallet installing, or what I might have done wrong, let me know any ideas you might have :D.

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  17. wolf_walker

    wolf_walker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    134
    16
    38
    Male
    I assume you wiped and reset and cleared everything while in recovery before flashing?

    First, make a nandroid of a good basic setup whenever you get it there.

    I'll tell you how I have installed wallet with 0 failures at least four times now.
    Install busybox if it isn't already, open it, it'll do it's auto-install routine. Note I don't know wtf this is exactly, but it does it and says it's happy.

    Install the wallet installer, run it. Choose TW and Verison, assuming a TW rom and VZW as your carrier I believe you said. It'll install the wallet and set it up rebooting in the process. After reboot and opening it to verify it does so, run the installer again, select TW and VZW, and restore build prop, it will reboot.
    Done.

    I'm inclined to say if this isn't working right, there is something messed up ahead fo time causing it. It's been slick as you could ask every time I've run it while bouncing back and forth between CleanRom and CM10 for me.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  18. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Hey Road,
    I moved your thread here to the root forums:)

    As wolf said, once you get your rom set up again, please make a nandroid backup.
    And always make a backup before flashing stuff such as wallet:)

    Anyhoo, as wolf said again, once you choose VZW and TW in the installer, it will change your build prop and install wallet.

    After the automatic reboot, go into wallet (not the installer) and setup wallet.

    After you set up wallet, you can restore your buildprop from within the installer.

    It will auto reboot and you should be set to go.:)
     
  19. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    After some looking around I found that what I did was wrong was set up the busy box before I tried to run the installer. I installed the app itself and I thought that was enough but I didn't let it do it's auto update sequence stuff. I look forward to trying it again and seeing what happens :)
     
  20. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I hope it works out for you:)
     
  21. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Yes! Did it during lunch period today lol it worked the second time around after being more careful. I look forward to trying it out! Looks like more places offer it than the locator app shows.

    Eric
     
  22. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    NICE!!! Glad you got it going!! :D
     
  23. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    I tried it today at a gas station and it is magical! Pretty cool stuff, although I think the guy working at the gas station thought I was crazy lol...I guess it's still very uncommon for people to actually use it.

    Do you guys actually use yours normally, whenever you see it available?

    Also, on many videos I have seen, they brag about how they got $10 dollars free when setting it up but I could not find this feature lol.
     
  24. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I would use it if it was more widespread. At this point in time, the number of merchants that use it is so few, plus many don't repair their pads if they aren't working because so few people do in fact use it.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  25. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    And my Secure Element is fudged so I can't use it or set it up if I wanted too:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...