1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Help switching from one custom ROM to another

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RoadSuper, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Hey all,

    I have been running CleanRom for a while now and I like it, but a friend of mine at school has cyayogenmod 10.1 on his S3 and I want to try that one out..

    What would be the easiest and fastest way for me to hop over to that one from cleanrom? I assume the process might be a bit different than the first time, like, I don't have to create another backup right? just wondering what the best method I should go about it with.

    Thanks,

    Eric
     

    Advertisement

  2. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    Unless cleanrom is based on 4.2, a backup won't do any good. The file system is different in 4.2
     
  3. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    So all I have to do is download the CM10.1 link from XDA onto my SD card and go to recovery and apply the new rom right from where I am now? No backups or resets or anything in the middle?

    And I can just use my TB backups from the last time I flashed right or do i have to re-backup my apps?
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Read the op about flashing: (is this the one you were interested in?)
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=35600769#post35600769

    I would still make a nandroid backup. Then wipe cache,dalvik,factory reset, then flash.
    I switched from Cleanrom to CM10.1..didn't like it..went back to Cleanrom but a fresh download, not a nandroid restore.

    @quickaudi--I am not clear on what you mean by different file system.
    If I make a nandroid backup of Cleanrom (or any rom for that matter), flash CM10.1 and decide I didn't like it, then restore my nandroid of CleanRom.
    What issues would arise?
     
  5. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    What didn't you like about it specifically? I have seen it on my friend's phone and I like the way it looks kinda, how it's not really like the phone came with. But I also like the stock interfaces and general look so I'm not sure if I should switch.
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Personally, I didn't like the way it looked. And the fact that is was a nightly, which in my mind, is not quite perfect......but that's just me.
    I like the way CleanRom looks and I also have it themed with DarkHorse theme. (see the link in my signature of my first post here).
    That's the way mine looks:) Dark, Blue, smooth:)

    Edit: and by the way, I'm not a big rom flashaholic...I find something I like and I run with it.
    I will check out a rom's thread here and there and if something catches my eye, I read thru the entire thread about it first. Just my 2 coins worth:p
     
  7. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ooh I did not see that theme before. I will try that out I think...not really sure how to apply that though..and how do i tell if i have the right version of cleanrom to use it?
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    It's all in the op..

    He recommends a fresh install of CleanRom. Then flash his theme.
    I am on CR 5.6....I did not do a fresh install but I am on a completely different launcher than what he has listed so maybe that is why I dont have issues.

    To find out what version you have, go to menu/settings/about phone and look for the build number. :)
     
  9. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok, I am on V5.6 so I should be fine there. I will try to figure it out from the post
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Nice! Just make a nandroid backup first. :) It's a good habit to get into when flashing something new such a a theme that big or a kernel etc.....good luck!
     
  11. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok I read over it and let me know if i have this right...First I will create a backup in the recovery menu, and then while I am still in recovery, wipe both caches ( not a factory reset though right? ), and then I re-install the cleanRom 5.6, and then install the theme, which I will have first installed onto the SD card.

    Right?
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I believe the way I understand it, you would do a factory reset too. As if you were flashing a new rom, but it would be CleanRom5.6.

    Let that flash settle for about 5 minutes, then flash his theme and let that settle for 5-10 minutes, then set your rom all up again.

    I didn't feel like doing that but I knew the consequences if I didn't...so I backed up with a nandroid and just flashed his theme.
    Perhaps I got lucky with no issues, knowing full well if I did have issues, I would have to start with a fresh install of CleanRom.:)
    But at least I had a backup to go to in case.
     
  13. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Ok. And I don't need to use the computer at all for that right? I could do everything from the phone if I am thinking correctly?

    If I am doing a factory reset, I forget, do I do that before or after wiping the caches?

    I'm looking forward to trying out the theme, it looks really cool!
     
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    If you have both files on your phone (CleanRom and the Theme), yes you can do that all with the phone and flash in recovery.
    It doesnt matter what you wipe first. I usually wipe cache, dalvik, then factory reset. Then do it 2 more times, then flash the rom.
    Just remember your nandroid backup first.
    I assume all your contacts are backed up to Google yes?
     
  15. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    4.2.1 introduced multiple user ability (more for tablets really) which allows multiple profiles and therefore required multiple setup flexibility. Basically, your "sdcard" folder gets converted to "sdcard0" for the main user, and additional accounts get "sdcard1", "sdcard2", etc.

    You would, going from a 4.1.x rom to a 4.2.x rom, either have to use a Recovery like TWRP that will do this for you, or use a file explorer to merge your existing "sdcard" and "sdcard0" folders.

    Going back to a 4.1.x rom would require the opposite.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  16. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    I'm downloading the theme now, Mike, do you recommend the 5X6 or the stock download for v1.1 of the theme?
     
  17. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I did the stock version.
    I think I'm going to have to do a clean install of CleanRom....I had an issue when I rebooted today....my launcher messed up and got force closes all over the place.
    Luckily, I restored a nandroid:p
    Guess I spoke too soon earlier when I said I had no issues lol :)
     
  18. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Lol, maybe! :D I guess worst case scenario is no nandroid and then you'd just re flash to fix it. Not too bad :p
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  19. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    After I flash the rom, you said to wait 5 mnutes and then flash the theme, then aother 10 minutes before i set up the rom, but won't it prompt me to set up the rom right after i flash it again? how can i get around that?
     
  20. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    RoadSuper likes this.
  21. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    Just got it all good and done with the new theme installed, it looks niccce!! Do you use touchwiz launcher? or nova or what?
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  22. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    No, I use TSF Shell Launcher....not free, but nice.:)
     
  23. WhoDoo Voodoo

    WhoDoo Voodoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    283
    98
    53
    Bad News
    I thing most flashers use Nova because it's awesome and you can back it up and rebring out your layout through backup. But it's hella laggy on Synergy and a tiny little but laggy on Hyperdrive. I love Nova because I switch and update ROMs quite a bit. Meaning I clean reinstall all ROMs. TIBU my apps only afterwards. The bring my Nova backup back. Then TIBU hand selected data for a few apps. And I always come out completely rebuilt in less than a half hour. I highly recommend a UHS-1 SDcard for warp speed in all of this. Everything works at 20MB per sec. I can revert huge TW backups in 6 minutes and do my TIBU restore in 4 or 5 with 400 apps.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  24. RoadSuper

    RoadSuper Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    188
    19
    38
    How do I erase default settings for launcher? I selected touchwiz but now I might try ti setup nova to see if i Like it.

    I am never one to have a ton of apps and doubt I ever will...I actually have so little apps that after re-flashing this rom just yesterday, I just went to the play store and re-downloaded them lol.
     
  25. WhoDoo Voodoo

    WhoDoo Voodoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    283
    98
    53
    Bad News
    It will take you there in the Nova settings. Make it easy. But if you just generally stick to one ROM and only have a couple of apps it's no big deal. Nova adds some cool stuff like the dock. You may want to try swipe pad. Crazy fast and easy. Just YouTube it. I think you will like it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...