1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] [HOW-TO]Enable Band 4 AWS on SM-N900V

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by William T Riker, Nov 17, 2013.

  1. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    This procedure requires root. I take no responsibility if you mess something up.

    1. Enable access to ServiceMode by editing ("Open with Text Editor")

    /efs/carrier/HiddenMenu file

    with a program like Root Explorer, and changing it from OFF to ON (uppercase only). Reboot the phone.

    2. Once the phone is rebooted, enter the dialer app and input

    *#27663368378#
    to enter ServiceMode

    3. Select:
    [2]UE SETTINGS & INFO,
    then [1]SETTING, then select [2]SYSTEM, then [9]NEXT PAGE and then select [4]VZW LTEB4 ON/OFF and finally select [1]B4 ENABLE ()...It should change to [1]B4 ENABLE (*) with an asterisk. Reboot the phone.

    AWS Band 4 should now be enabled for your Galaxy Note 3.


    To force the Phone onto Band 4:
    Enter ServiceMode, UE Setting > Settings > Protocol > NAS > Network Control > Band Selection > LTE Preference > B4. Do this at your own risk. When Band 4 is forced it is Data only, No voice. To switch back to automatic do the same thing, but choose Automatic instead of LTE Band Preference.


    To view what band your Phone is operating on:
    Enter ServiceMode, Protocol State > Basic Information .. it will show on the first line.
    You can also use *#0011# from the dialer

    ***EDIT 2/7 - Band 4 is now enabled on the MJE update by default.

    It's no longer necessary to do this, unless you are still on MI9 or MJ7 or want access to the service menu.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    The_Chief likes this.
  2. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Anyone in an AWS area and want to share a speedtest?
     
    ascanio1 likes this.
  3. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    Where can we find out what areas have AWS?
     
  4. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    NYC, LA, SF, Chicago, Atlanta, Detroit, Miami off the top of my head.. Google may be able to turn more up for you. Philadelphia is supposed to have it as well since I see youre PA
     
  5. ascanio1

    ascanio1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    27
    0
    35
    Sorry for posting here, I have an SM-N9005 LTE/international running official 4.4.2 KK and rooted. Long story short I need to enable bands: 1, 3, 8 and 20.
    Do you think that this method will work also for the N90005? If yes, are you, by any chance, aware of any command differences?

    I would seriously appreciate pointing me in the right direction as I'm banging my head and I'm really annoyed at Samsung selling me a "facotry unlocked" phone which is locked to specific region/MPN with band limitations!

    Please, please help me or point me in the right direction, if you can!
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,056
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,056
    12,934
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I changed the Hidden Menu to ON, but B4 was already enabled :)

    Thank you!
     
  7. Lawkev

    Lawkev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    69
    1
    16
    I rooted the note 3 and enabled band 4. It worked on and off for a few days and now the 4G lte does not work at all. It was working on the global setting. When I switch to the GSM setting I get the hspa network. Can anyone tell me why the 4G is not working? My band 4 says idle enabled when I select the global setting.

    thanks in advance
     
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,056
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,056
    12,934
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Do you have the SM-900V, as specified? This is for the VERIZON Note 3 only.
     
  9. SFWB

    SFWB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    427
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    427
    27
    53
    Male
    IT Hardware/Network Specialist
    Florida's Nature Coast
    I cannot get this to work. I must be missing incredibly simple, and thus stupid on my part.

    I changed the permissions for the HiddenMenu file so that the new "ON" version of the file would be saved. I shut down the phone and restarted it. I went back in and verified the file was changed and saved (it now has today's date).

    If I go into the dialer and enter the code above, it does not enter service mode.

    What the hell am I doing wrong?

    EDIT: Got it. I tried a battery pull and that did it. For some reason a shutdown and restart didn't get it done.

    B4 was already enabled.
     
  10. ascanio1

    ascanio1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    27
    0
    35
    Can you teach me how to access the hidden menu to enable bands, please? Which permissions to which file? What code on the dialer? Once the hidden menu is open, what do I change and where?
     
  11. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Band 4 is now enabled on the MJE update by default.

    It's no longer necessary to do this, unless you are still on MI9 or MJ7 or want access to the service menu.
     
    The_Chief and MrClean like this.

Share This Page

Loading...