1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[Verizon] How to restore apps on clockworkmod recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thefobjang, Aug 21, 2012.

1. thefobjang

thefobjang Lurker

Hi. This is my first time posting up a new thread but I don't know if this is going to work fine.

I have a Verizon galaxy nexus and I just flashed jelly bean on clockworkmod reocvery.
    I have backed up files before updating to jellybean but now I don't know how to get my apps.
    Is it possible to back up only apps that I had previously or no?

If you can, can you please explain it to me thoroughly but simple to understand?

Thank you for your time reading this post. I hope you can help me! Appreciate it.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. jova33

jova33 Android Expert

you need to use an app to backup your apps. I use titanium backup.

when I clean install, I do these steps:
    1) backup all apps & SMS in Titanium backup
    2) reboot recovery
    3) optional: make nandroid backup
    3) wipe cache, dalvik cache, factory data reset, system
    5) flash ROM, gapps
    5) optional: flash inverted gapps, different kernel, boot animation
    6) wipe cache and dalvik cache
    7) reboot
    8) go through intitial setup
    9) open play store and stop it from downloading 64 apps
    10) install titanium backup from play store
    11) restore all my (edit: user apps, no system apps) apps & SMS using titanium backup

dirty flash:
    1) boot into recovery
    2) wipe cache, dalvik cache, system
    3) install ROM, gapps, kernel, and whatever inverted stuff I like
    4) wipe cache and dalvik
    5) reboot

I don't even do nandroids anymore. If I flash a bad ROM, I just go back into recovery and flash the last stable ROM I had on.

scary alien and thefobjang like this.
  3. iowabowtech

iowabowtech root@android:/ #