1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] How to switch between roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zealex, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Zealex

    Zealex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012

    Oct 13, 2012
    68
    6
    16
    Male
    Hello,

    I've rooted and flashed cleanrom 5.0 to my samsung galaxy s3 probably around a month or two ago.I was just wondering, how I could switch to another rom? I'm interested in trying synergy rom, and figured I'd give it a shot. I've backed up all the apps I need to in Titanium backup, so I have those. I downloaded the rom already as well, should I put the rom my external memory and just clear all data on my phone in recovery? I'm a bit confused, if anyone could offer any help it would be greatly appreciated.

    P.S. I have TWRP2.2 by the way

    Thank you for reading.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scarsketch

    Scarsketch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    118
    14
    38
    Read directions all the way through before performing actions.

    Google your phone and Roms right after . Download the mod into your sd card. If you have adb u can use that to reboot into your recovery. If not press the power button and select reboot then Select recovery. Or use the external functions of the phone to boot into the recovery. Then wipe data then wipe cache then install zip from sdcard select the zip and select the Rom. Use volume keys to navigate down to yes confirm it and it should go through if it the correct Rom for your phone.

    I am not responsible for any bricking of your phone just a reasonable person trying to reach out and help
     
  3. Zealex

    Zealex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012

    Oct 13, 2012
    68
    6
    16
    Male
    Yeah I know how to get into recovery lol. I'm in recovery, should I select cache and wipe that, and then select format data? I'm assuming that's what you mean by "wipe data". I'm using team win recovery project by the way.
     
  4. syi

    syi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    588
    58
    98
    Male
    I dont do shit
    oregon
    basically, boot into recovery. factory reset, wipe system, data, cache and dalvik. install(flash) another rom, wipe dalvik&cache, reboot. fiddle with rom. make backup. repeat until you're a fashaholic.
     
    cbanning and Mikestony like this.
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,008
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,008
    24,914
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    May I add to make a backup while in recovery before wiping.
    Then wipe and flash :)
     
  6. Zealex

    Zealex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012

    Oct 13, 2012
    68
    6
    16
    Male
    Thanks guys iI got the steps iI needed haha :)! forgot to make a recovery though =x
     

Share This Page

Loading...