1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] IMEI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dkl1, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    Should the IMEI # be the same on my replacement device as on the original one? Just askin'! I'm using the SIM card from my old (damaged) device in the new one. I am just wondering if THAT could be messing with the calls issue I'm experiencing? :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,614
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,614
    22,094
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    No, the IMEI will not be the same on 2 different devices.
    However, the IMEI that is listed under the battery should match the one listed in the "about phone" menu.
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  3. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Yes if the old card has been somewhat deleted .you should have a new card if not you need to activate the new card with the NEW imei from the NEW phone . That's what some people call security cause when you call to set up your new device they know when you activate and where you are .
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  4. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    This may explain some of my headaches! This card is from my damaged phone. I simply took it out and stuck it in the replacement device and since then I can't send or receive calls!

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,752
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,752
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Curious here - I've been reading your tale of woe (sorry to see all this crap for you) and I have a question. It appears you are referring to your original S3 phone with a new motherboard installed as a new device? Would replacing the motherboard require a different IMEI number now on the same original S3 chassis?
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  6. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    No two phones or Motherboard can have the same IMEI number legally. They are all different.
     
    dkl1, Zoandroid and Mikestony like this.
  7. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,752
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,752
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Oh, OK. So when they replace the motherboard in a phone, do they issue you a new IMEI? Because the one that had been originally printed inside the battery compartment would no longer apply.

    Thanks for the info! :)
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  8. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    It appears that another forum member has answered...who appears to know more about this than I! :D

    BTW - I am back to having a properly rooted and unlocked S3 with a perfect glass screen and hope I NEVER have to deal with this again.:)
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  9. mrsmumbles

    mrsmumbles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013

    Sep 19, 2013
    464
    75
    53
    Maybe try updating the phone? There's an update for towers.
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  10. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH

    Just to be clear here...

    This issue has been resolved! I have a new phone now. :)
     
    Mikestony and mrsmumbles like this.
  11. mrsmumbles

    mrsmumbles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013

    Sep 19, 2013
    464
    75
    53
    Great! I'm glad you got it solved. :D:beer:
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  12. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,752
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,752
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Glad you got it going! Did they replace the IMEI sticker by the battery with the new IMEI number? I'm just curious how this works because I have never dealt with this before.
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  13. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    To be honest, I haven't looked! I will later and try to remember to post what I find :D

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
    Zoandroid likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...