1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] IMM76K Radios/Bootloader at XDA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mihalich, May 1, 2012.

  1. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA

    Advertisement

    Old Member, Mahalo, NSutherl and 4 others like this.
  2. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Verified :thumbup: and an improvement so far!
     
  3. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Flashed these radios using ROM Manager last night and they are working fine.

    BTW - for the first time ever my GNex has more bars of 4G reception than my Xoom. A quick Speed Test run shows my Xoom 1 mbs faster than my GNex (17.8 vs. 16.8 download).
     
  4. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53
    I thought the 4.0.4 radio and bootloader were already available somewhere else?
     
  5. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    that was from the old .4 that leaked. A new .4 leaked yesterday with updated firmware.
     
  6. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Flashed the radios last night. I'm on Baseband v. I515.09 V.FC04 / I515.FC05 now.

    Doesn't seem any different than the previous FA02 baseband. Which I didn't expect it to do much. Maybe help transitions between 3G/4G areas, but I live and work in a 3G only area and haven't had a chance to test that out. With the FA02 radios, it would sometimes still not transition to 4G unless I toggled data/LTE.

    I wouldn't expect a software to magically improve signal strength though. Fortunately that's never really been an issue for me on my Gnex though.
     
  7. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    I happen to be flying across the country today so I figured I'd check to see how the new radios work in the different locations. The first test was at Reagan Airport in DC. In Phoenix my GNex shows 4 bars and Xoom shows 2 but the GNex was faster on both download and upload (7.3 vs. 6 and 3.4 vs. 2.6). Seems like the GNex maybe over rating the signal a bit.
     
    jbdan likes this.
  8. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    Yeah, there was the whole uproar a while ago about verizon saying they were going to adjust their signal strength reading to consistent with their other phones. Which at the time meant, showing the signal strength to be greater than what it really is. No idea what they actually implemented though.

    I'd prefer accurate reading, even if it's crappy.

    Joe
     
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Definitely seeing an overall improvement in signal integrity. Not only are the dbm readings better in and around the metro Atlanta area, I also drove through a burb where it has ALWAYS dropped to 3G for about 5 minutes then switches back to 4G. It stayed on 4G the entire time albeit -110/-116 dbm strength. Didn't matter though I had a nice fast connection to Phandroid :) Also, I see a much more animated (think busier) dbm meter which to me seems like it is more accurate, or trying to be more accurate through different locations. So far, so good!
     
  10. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    your the second person that i've read that specifically mentioned a more active dbm reading. As if maybe it has sped up the way in which the radio updates. This is a good thing.
     
  11. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    167
    29
    43
    Mechanical Engineer
    New York City
    I flashed the radios, at work I have always shown -75dBm so I will have to see if I have better signal strength in my apt when im home as that is where it has been weak in the past.
     
  12. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    Great. Just getting around to pulling it down and installing it now.

    Joe
     
  13. iwoloschin

    iwoloschin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    235
    85
    53
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Somerville, MA
    I flashed mine a few hours ago. When I checked the battery page in Settings, since I flashed it's been almost all green. That never happens. I haven't actually used the phone apart from a quick phone call, so I can't confirm if there's actually a difference or not.

    I can confirm the old 4.0.4 radios were better than the 4.0.2 radios, I had my brother's brand new Gnex next to mine, and his couldn't pull AOKP M5 down, until I realized I hadn't upgraded the radios. I didn't expect it to be that drastic, but hey, I'll take any free improvements!
     
  14. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    The 3G-4G hand off seems somewhat quicker.

    The 4G-3G hand off is still lame.

    Joe
     
  15. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    what about hand off between Cell and Wifi and then Back

    example

    your at home using your home wifi
    you want to send an mms (picture text message)

    how does that work? that is one of my biggest issues.
     
  16. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    When I'm at home (now) and send an mms (now) nothing ever switches it just sends it. Takes about 6 seconds to send a big pic.

    From 3G to 4G is instantaneous with the newest radio. From 4G to 3G takes 10-15 seconds for me. Doesn't bother me one bit

    edit: My MMS has always worked that way regardless of what radios I'm running and I've been on them all
     
  17. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    mwalt has a ROM out for those that want to try it :)

    *could add it to your OP mihalich
     
  18. funkbucket007

    funkbucket007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    86
    19
    18
    Male
    Firefighter
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Have better reception (per the bars) than on the previously leaked 4.0.4 radios. In the fire station I'm working in today, I'd normally have 2 bars but after flashing the new leaked radios, I have 3, sometimes 4. Hand-off seems better but I did have to do a restart once today to get an MMS to send. It showed three bars of 4G but no "up/down" arrows in it and wouldn't send. Switching to airplane mode and back or toggling 4G on/off didn't fix it...it just kept saying "sending." After a reboot, it worked fine.
     
  19. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,984
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,984
    25,420
    3,933
    Male
    I'm gonna flash this now.
     
  20. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,984
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,984
    25,420
    3,933
    Male
    This is weird. At home I'd normally get up to 30 mbps d/l. At work with the new 4g I'd get up 2.5 mbps d/l. With the new radio I'm getting 8.1 mbps d/l. Weird. Is this possible?
     
  21. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    How does yours work?
     
  22. djc999

    djc999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    Just flashed the new radios over the leak and saw no difference
     
  23. the7nd

    the7nd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    I have been using the new radios for the past few hours and things seems to be running really well so far. I am not turning on my phone to see I can't use data because of the switch from 3G-4G or vice versa.
     
  24. sessman

    sessman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    199
    24
    38
    San Diego
    couldnt send MMS over wifi before i rooted, still couldnt while rooted running aokp m5 and leaked 4.0.4 radios, still cant using aokp m5 and official 4.0.4 radios...bummed.

    also im noticing very little difference in the amount of bars i am receiving, still zero bars at home though i can make phone calls etc without dropping
     
  25. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Yeah, ya can't use the bars as an accurate measurement. At least I don't believe you can.

    So you've never been able to send mms? Ever?

    mms is not sent over wifi. It's sent over your mobile data connection. Are you saying that when your connected to wifi you can't send mms, but if you turn wifi off so you have the 3G or 4G or even 1X icon in your status bar then you CAN send mms?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...