1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Verizon] Just now I am rooting, BUT...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dkl1, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    ...the phone is 'stuck' in the boot screen??? :questionmark:

    Help...
     

    Advertisement

  2. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    Well.......

    Guess I'll need to go to bed and try to forget about the fact that I may have just BRICKED my 3 day old GS3!


    It's been in the flashing 4G LTE screen for oh, 20 minutes now....

    CRAP :thinking:
     
  3. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    Before I went to bed, I decided to try the Odin procedure once more. It WORKED!!! I'm now rooted!

    Just a side note/comment: I have to say, I must have gotten spoiled when I had my EVO 4G and needed help. The EVO 4G ATR forum is possibly THE busiest of all forums! Oh well, perhaps in time, this one will populate nicely:p...!
     
  4. seethesvt

    seethesvt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    102
    3
    36
    This forum is quite slow. I wanna know what I gotta do to switch from cm10 to something else. I no answer.
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  5. dkl1

    dkl1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    816
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    816
    323
    133
    Male
    General contractor
    Centerville, OH
    I hear ya! Must be darn few of us who have actually rooted and are interested in moving into more 'tech-y' stuff :D

    I wish I could help you with the switching roms but you are farther down the path than I at this point. All I did is as stated above, and I still have the stock 'look' and all but I am rooted, have the TWRP recovery, AND I unlocked the bootloader just this afternoon! So...

    I'm ready to start flashing different roms here soon but I'm kinda tired of seeing the sun shining outside and I'm inside sittin' at the pc!

    Have you looked at the ROM section in post #2 here ---> [Guide] Step-by-Step Rooting & Flashing - Android Forums Just be sure to read the OP remarks/instructions and should be good to go...:thinking:
     
  6. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Well, you already flashed CM10, so you already know how to flash a ROM. Find a different ROM and flash it. ;)
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  7. seethesvt

    seethesvt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    102
    3
    36
    If I just flash a new rom , won't cm10 still be there? I don't have to delete cm10? Or install the backup I made before flashing cyanoginmod?
     
  8. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Flashing overwrites the system that's on there. The typical process in CWM/TWRP is:
    1) Make a backup (optional)
    2) Factory reset
    3) Clear cache
    4) Clear dalvik cache
    5) Flash ROM
    6) Reboot
    7) ???
    8) Profit
     
    dkl1 likes this.
  9. wharpig

    wharpig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    79
    2
    16
    PC Analyst
    Ohio
    If you like CM10 back it up then wipe data and flash the new ROM, that way if you don't like the new ROM you can just restore the old ROM, or if the new ROM fails and wont boot you at least have the backup you can restore. I generally install a new ROM weekly unless I find one I really like I may keep that for a month or two.
     
  10. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS
    This, except if you do factory/data reset it also clears cache, so go from step 2 to step 4 and skip 3.
     
  11. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    712
    118
    103
    Male
    Retired Electronics, Computer, Network Engineer
    Greensboro, NC
    There is a sticky that walks you through this, already posted before you asked.
    Each custom ROM will also have instructions for flashing it, linked in said sticky.
    The answers are here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...